WRITING HABIT | GROWTH MINDSET

Before You Discard That Article, Read This!

How to write compelling articles as a burgeoning writer

Debi-Gold | Creative Writer
Thought Thinkers

--

Image Designed by Author

When I started my graphic design journey, I spent hours designing, discarding, redesigning and then loathing my designs — because they just didn’t look right.

I gradually became frustrated and my passion slowly dwindled. It didn’t look as exciting as it used to.

What I didn’t realize was that, the processes and principles of mastering graphic design I skipped were the reason I was constantly stuck.

The same goes for writing. As a burgeoning writer, there are basic principles you should never skip in your writing journey.

Basic Principles To Help Your Writing Journey

1. Devour valuable content:

As a young designer that had just learned the basics of a design software, I underestimated the power of studying the designs of professionals.

Because I wasn’t familiar with how a particular design should look like, I constantly found myself struggling to come up with designs. So, I burned out.

As a writer, you can only give what you have. Consistently exposing yourself to quality, rich and valuable content within and outside of your niche, affects your writing significantly.

You should not struggle to write, there are resources everywhere for you to learn from. A thousand-and- one quality articles and books you can read.

The more you read, the more your brain unconsciously pick the new words, grammatical structure, the usage and stores them.

The next time you sit to write, you’d be amazed at how much the struggle to write has drastically reduced. Your brain gradually releases those words when you need them.

Whether or not you are writing, make reading a habit.

The brain is like a mop, it soaks every liquid it comes across!

2. Let your draft sit and then revisit:

I was quick to discard any design that didn’t look appealing on first attempt, even when all it needed was just a sprinkle of patience and a few adjustments here and there.

Your first draft is not usually publication-ready. It could be a bunch of disconnected words that does not make sense until you begin to piece them together.

It might need to undergo several rounds of editing to bring it to the point where it can be consumed by your audience.

Do not be quick to discard whatever piece you write. Frustrated or stuck? Go on a break. Distract yourself for a couple of hours and return with fresh pairs of eyes.

Works like magic!

You’d be seeing your article from a fresh perspective and easier for you to spot inconsistencies.

3. Start with Short Form Content:

I was fascinated with complicated designs and wanted to replicate them right at the start of my design journey. A very foolish idea!

Even when my trainer insisted we started with simple designs, we thought she didn’t want us to explore. But she was right!

It’s good to dream big and aim high. But even better, to accept where you at and take one step at a time!

Starting with short articles gets you familiar with the ability to properly express yourself for your readers to understand. Not just throwing a bunch of words of meaningless words together.

Start small and slowly build momentum. Before long, you’d be writing longer form of content.

4. Research The Topic:

Researching gives you more insights on the topic you are writing on. As a burgeoning writer never try to write from your head. It’s okay to learn from others.

Austin Kleon said “Copying from one source is plagiarism. Copying from multiple source is creativity”

Paraphrased.

Simply, arm yourself with knowledge and write in your own voice and unique perspective.

Hi, My name Debi Gold and I write articles that helps burgeoning writers develop their writing prowess

Want to get notified when next I publish? Subscribe here

--

--

Debi-Gold | Creative Writer
Thought Thinkers

Creative Writer | Sharing my journey from a burgeoning writer to an expert and helping newbies embrace their creative journey | https://linktr.ee/_debi.gold23