On Zuzanna Żak

Know who you’re reading with

Zuzanna Żak
Thought Thinkers
2 min readNov 4, 2022

--

For the 3 Minute Thoughts publication, I wanted to write a short introduction on who you’re dealing with. I’m not particularly eager to write long sentences and stories about myself, but my ego benefits from giving out some fun facts.

Almost everyone in my family from my mother’s side, including me, was born on the 4th, 14th, or 24th, or in April.

45% of my tattoos are tattoos of birds, which should give you an idea of the topic I write on most often. I have a common blackbird, a Eurasian jay, white wagtail, and one 3-eyed bird inked on my skin.

I spent 3 months at the University of Fine Arts, trying to get a degree in Urban planning. I dropped out because it was too artsy, without much theoretical or practical knowledge related to the field, and started doing only a statistics degree (you can be in multiple universities at the same time in Poland, although it’s hard to manage).

I was almost born but definitely raised in the academic district, with long ambitions to be an academic teacher, but once the opportunity came, I quit.

I really enjoy that my last name starts with Ż, a letter used in Polish, Kashubian, Maltese, and Emilian-Romagnol. I think it looks nice.

My last name was used as my name until going to the university. Zuzanna is an extremely popular name in Poland, being one of the top 2 chosen names for newborns since 2000, which caused me to land in a classroom with 3–4 Zuzannas. As my last name is short and neutral in meaning, it made things easier. After the university and at work, I was then always the only Zuzanna around (feels weird).

That’s pretty much it — if you’re interested in birding and nature, then I hope that you’ll enjoy my writing. If not, feedback always welcome.

--

--

Zuzanna Żak
Thought Thinkers

Field recordist, bird song participant, early morning enjoyer. Use my 🦆 recordings:https://www.pond5.com/artist/ZuzannaZak