Getting Serious in Greenville

Jerry Boak
30 Cups Across
Published in
3 min readSep 4, 2016

Until my wife’s brother and sister-in-law moved to Greenville, SC, I’d never given the place much thought. My mistake, turns out.

Located in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the city (metro population 400K) is growing like a weed, thanks to its central location between Charlotte, Atlanta, Nashville and the coast, a number of corporate re-locations, and emerging tech, real estate and banking sectors. Plus, the area’s weather is a little more temperate than it’s down-country cousins of Columbia and Charleston.

After our long drive from San Deigo, we were looking for a little downtime; plus the kids were excited about hanging out with their little cousin. This allowed me some time to do a bit of exploring, and find a decent coffee stop.

After a recommendation from my brother-in-law, I set out for Methodical Coffee, right in downtown Greenville. Parking on Main Street can be a pain, but I quickly realized that the garage behind where Methodical is located offers free one-hour parking. Though it was rush hour, I found a space and was in line within minutes.

A spare, well-appointed space with all the artisanal trimmings one expects from a high-end coffee joint, Methodical’s decor primed me for caffeinated perfection by the time I came face-to-face with the barista.

It should be said that the more serious cafes have team members who are usually equally “artisanal;” by that I mean hip threads, tattoos or body piercings, facial hair for the guys, creative hairstyles for the girls. This is all to say good coffee is serious business and demands a holistic environment to match. On all accounts, Methodical does not disappoint.

After ordering a pour-through and a siphon brew, my barista engaged me in conversation and went into wonderful detail about the siphon process and the chosen beans, location variances and roasting techniques. I watched with fascination as the siphon bulb bubbled and steamed like a well-controlled science experiment. Did I need safety glasses?

From my first sip to the last, I couldn’t have been more pleased with the result. Showcasing even extraction, the Honduran roast was smooth, robust and complex. The Ethiopian pour-over was equally top-notch. And all from baristas who not only know their stuff, but artistically deliver an entire experience, start to finish.

Methodical gets my highest recommendation! Thank you Greenville.

To learn more about our thirty day adventure across America, check out our other publications WHERE DO WE FIT IN? and BEST (HEALTHY) ROAD FOOD.

--

--

Jerry Boak
30 Cups Across

“Where do we fit in?” One interstate at a time . . .