Past and Future in Spokane

Jerry Boak
30 Cups Across
Published in
3 min readAug 16, 2016

I had forgotten that Spokane had hosted a World’s Exposition in 1974; that is until I went for a morning jog through downtown and saw the aging fair pavilions near the falls and river that dissect the city. Spokane is in the midst of a large scale refresh of the exposition site turned civic park, including the nearby downtown area. And I could see why. With Seattle’s tech explosion happening a mere four hours away, and the energy sector expanding in the other direction, Spokane is well-poised to benefit in some tangential, if not direct way.

Hotel Montvale surprised us with a glorious, second floor lobby and comfy rooms.
Falls and cable cars left from Expo ‘74

In fact, the city reminded me a bit of Seattle when I’d first moved there in the mid-80s. And since Seattle is the epicenter of the new coffee movement, I figured that Spokane would, by extension, have some decent coffee places.

I stopped a young guy sporting a slim tie and tattoos on his way to work, and asked for directions to a good coffee shop, as in, “really good”. He pointed me to Indaba Coffee just a few blocks away. His suggestion didn’t disappoint.

The first thing I noticed was their groovy Modbar under-counter espresso machine (American made in Ft. Wayne, Indiana). My cortado was extraordinary, the digs were cool, the art spare.

Indaba is a high recommend if you find your way to Spokane, Washington.

Indaba Coffee, Spokane, WA

Next stop, Seattle!

To learn more about our thirty day adventure across America, check out our other publications WHERE DO WE FIT IN? and BEST (HEALTHY) ROAD FOOD.

--

--

Jerry Boak
30 Cups Across

“Where do we fit in?” One interstate at a time . . .