Deep in the zone

Dr. Gergő Péter Szekeres
30+ days of PhD
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2019

Writing made me lose track of time — Days 14–15.

Photo by Matthew Henry from Burst

Yes, I know. I’m cheating by skipping a story. The truth is, I lost track of time.

On Monday, day 14, I decided to come to the office and work. It of course came down to something completely different. Today (on Wednesday) I had to give a presentation and I spent most of my Monday office hours on the presentation.

It was a very sleepy day, to be honest. It was very difficult to wake up, migraine generally drains my batteries. Then I came to the office, sat down, and just looked at the display. For hours. I sometimes opened my dissertation, did a bit of editing, but nothing else, then back to staring.

So I decided that if I have to do this presentation anyway and I also do not see myself working on the dissertation, let’s just do that! I prepared the presentation (a 30-min-long one), then I said okay, let’s go home and see if I can do anything there. Well, I could, but it was not work-related. Anyway, I had a nice evening, and I was hoping that Tuesday, day 15, would be different.

And it was. I came in, the day started slowly as expected, but then I managed to be productive. I was writing nearly for about 5–6 hours continuously. At one point then I realized that I have been thinking about the same sentence to bind two thoughts together for over an hour, so somewhat frustrated, but I admitted that I have been defeated for the day, and decided to go home. Of course, the moment I left the office, it came to my mind, but there was nothing that could have made me go back to write.

Todays achievements are still in progress, so I will write about them a bit later.

Cheers,

Gergo

--

--

Dr. Gergő Péter Szekeres
30+ days of PhD

Post-doctoral scientist. Contributor @Physics World. Writer of The Startup, The Writing Cooperative, and The Post-Grad Survival Guide.