Dr. Gergő Péter Szekeres
30+ days of PhD
Published in
2 min readJul 6, 2019

--

How to make thesis writing a bit less monotonous?

Or at least how I try to do it — Day 12.

Photo by Matthew Henry from Burst

If it’s not yet absolutely obvious, I adore dogs. I mean, look at those paws and how it’s trying to hit space?!?! So smart!

Anyway. I guess this is not why you came here.

I more and more find myself in a situation where my brain tries to go somewhere else, and it is very hard to focus. I believe when your job is to write just the one thing the whole day every day, it can be a bit monotonous, and our minds, especially if we are more of the creative kind, try to keep it interesting.

I was thinking how could I make it more flattering for myself, since even when I am home and I could do whatever I wanted to, I find myself not even wanting to watch movies or so, as if my mind tried desperately not to accept any more information.

What I am trying to do now is to go to cafes for an hour, take a short walk in the city, talk to the people I love, while my brain does everything to prevent me from seeing anyone or anything. This will probably be a fun journey at certain points :-)

However, I am sitting in the office now, I have just had lunch, took my vitamins, so let’s see how far I can go today. Currently, we are on page 74.

Have a great Saturday!

--

--

Dr. Gergő Péter Szekeres
30+ days of PhD

Post-doctoral scientist. Contributor @Physics World. Writer of The Startup, The Writing Cooperative, and The Post-Grad Survival Guide.