Jumping into deep waters

The feeling when you finally get your ultimate motivation — Day 21.

Dr. Gergő Péter Szekeres
30+ days of PhD
2 min readJul 22, 2019

--

Photo by Brodie Vissers from Burst

A new week has started today. After my short but very useful vacation, I got into it with extreme motivation. I have to finish the thesis as soon as possible to enjoy at least a bit of the summer. I don’t mean I want to just “get over with it”, I still want to write it in the best possible quality, but I want to be as efficient as possible.

I have finalized two chapters by today, there are 6 more to go, but 3 of those are mostly done, only fine details need to be changed now. The plan is quite ambitious for tomorrow, but I believe I can do it: finalizing the next three chapters. Then I will only have to deal with writing the introduction and the short discussion of what the dissertation is about.

The volume of the piece is quite okay for now: it is about 125 pages without the reference list, so I expect to have something between 180–200 pages in total.

If I don’t get to finish all 3 of those chapters tomorrow, it’s still going to be more than fine. I have a lot of time still until the 8th when I will have to hand it in, but this weekend there will be a festival I will attend, and it would be great if I could do so without having to think about my dissertation.

However, now my eyes are having trouble staying open, so I will get back here tomorrow.

Cheers!

--

--

Dr. Gergő Péter Szekeres
30+ days of PhD

Post-doctoral scientist. Contributor @Physics World. Writer of The Startup, The Writing Cooperative, and The Post-Grad Survival Guide.