Writing gave me a headache

Dr. Gergő Péter Szekeres
30+ days of PhD
Published in
2 min readJul 7, 2019

How to do your job when you don’t feel the best? — Day 13.

Well, technically it was the weather, and also it was a migraine, not a normal headache. Nonetheless, I did it.

Today is Sunday, and I don’t think anything says “Stay in bed and watch movies!” more than the word “Sunday”. Tomorrow is Monday, my least favorite day, and I have also been working without a proper day-out for weeks.

When I got my headache at around 12 today, I thought, okay, this is it. I am just taking the day off. To make the migraine go away, I made some coffee and an ice-cold smoothie (sometimes the quick changes from hot to cold or vice versa, plus caffeine intake and sour drinks make my migraine manageable). I was drinking it, and thinking about what series to watch. I started watching, and after about 5 minutes, I thought: “Why don’t I just finish the section where I detail the recipes of several solutions, since I always leave the notes at home?” So I convinced myself that I will do that, but only that, and I will continue watching. A couple of hours in, I decided to have a short break, I watched half an episode, I ate, and I looked around what’s going on on social media.

Then I went back to work. In total, I worked about seven hours today. It is probably more pure working time than I generally have when I go to the office. Moreover, I have not thought about my headache throughout the whole process, and it barely hurts now.

So I wrote 8 pages today, not as much as I wanted to, but definitely much more than I planned before I decided to write, so kudos for me.

I hope you also had a great weekend, and you are ready to dive into the next week! It will be very exciting and very intense — at least for me.

--

--

Dr. Gergő Péter Szekeres
30+ days of PhD

Post-doctoral scientist. Contributor @Physics World. Writer of The Startup, The Writing Cooperative, and The Post-Grad Survival Guide.