Day 22: Your morning routine

Amarachi
30 days of writing challenge
2 min readDec 23, 2019

Unlocks phone screen. 9 am. Time is usually the first thing on my mind when I wake up. Before I go to bed, I estimate how long I’m going to sleep and what time I’m going to wake up, and in the morning I crosscheck how accurate I was. I’m usually pretty accurate. With my phone being my timepiece, I struggle between going into prayer immediately or proceeding to go through my favorite social media platforms. Unfortunately, the latter usually wins the battle. Sigh, we live to fight another day I guess. So my social media tour starts at WhatsApp. Anything interesting? Nope. Just group chats I never reply to. Moving on to Twitter. Jokes. Jokes. Rants. More Jokes. Politics. More rants. Retweet some things, favorite some things. The usual. Now Instagram. Scroll. Scroll. “Love her outfit”. Double tap. “That food looks good”. Double tap and save, even though I know I’ll never cook it. “Love her outfit”. Double tap. “Wait, she’s pregnant again???”. Send to my friend group. “Hilarioussss”. Double tap and mention my sister in the comments. Now back to WhatsApp in case anyone decided to message me in the last 20 minutes. No messages. Twitter nko? Tweets I don’t care about. Locks phone screen. Off to brush my teeth then. The last thing I want is morning breath while I’m whispering in prayer. Very distracting. Now, time for the Lord. Bible or Rosary. Yesterday was Bible so today is rosary. This takes about an hour or an hour and a half, depending on how much I have on my mind that day. Finally ready to start my day. I take a brief tour around the house, hoping I don’t have to share my solitude with anyone. For the most part I don’t have to but if I do, it’s most likely my nephew. If that’s the case, I proceed to get him ready for the day. Shower. Food. The whole bit. Then I get myself ready for the day. Shower. Food. Kdrama. The whole bit. 12:30 pm. Moving on to the afternoon routine…

--

--

Amarachi
30 days of writing challenge

Working on being more intentional about my hobbies, which includes writing, so I’ll be documenting what I am able to come up with from time to time. Enjoy!