Day 24: Something you miss

Amarachi
30 days of writing challenge
1 min readDec 26, 2019

I miss going to the village for Christmas holiday when I was younger. I miss having to leave the house at 5am to start our journey to the village. Okay, I lied. I don’t miss it at all. The ride to Imo state took over 12 hours with occasional stops by the greedy police officers at the checkpoints. There was an occasion when one of them pulled a gun on us and his accomplice threatened us to run him over if didn’t give them “Christmas” but that’s another story for another day. The journey was stressful but I loved passing through the different states and seeing other parts of Nigeria. Even for a brief moment. I miss my grandma. My dad’s mum. She only spoke Igbo. I barely spoke Igbo. So our conversations were not very wordy. It mostly consisted of her talking and me nodding like I knew was she was talking about. I miss those. I miss my grandma. My mum’s mum. Whenever she wanted to go to the market, she would give us Math questions to solve before she got back. I think it kind of reminded her of her time as a teacher before she had kids. I don’t remember successfully solving any of them but it’s still a fun memory.

--

--

Amarachi
30 days of writing challenge

Working on being more intentional about my hobbies, which includes writing, so I’ll be documenting what I am able to come up with from time to time. Enjoy!