Day 22: A lone seeker

Matjaž Šircelj
30 days writing challenge
2 min readDec 21, 2016

I like airports. I feel them as places where everybody has their wish granted. Going somewhere they imagined long time ago. Meeting someone they invited for holiday after not seeing them for too many years. Passengers going on the same plane are strangers, but they have the same goal. Everything is buzzing, yet it all seems like a calmed ant farm. All the shops, bars and restaurants make you feel like you’re in your own town. And especially I like bookstores. They are like reminiscences of the past, embracing our hungry soul, feeding us with curiosity, hugging us and sending us into the world richer, enlightened, wiser.

I like hotels. I feel them as places where everybody is home for just a little while. There is always someone at the desk that says goodnight, always a good morning. I know it’s their job, but still, their nature is friendly, they try to be human as possible, they help through those rare moments when you’re not at home, yet you are. And especially I like their piano bars. Everyone is welcome there and no one is lonely, even if they come alone. Music is gentle, there is no rush, only slow movement of lost souls, trying to have a pleasant evening.

I like cities in the evening. I feel people on long walks, exploring bright alleys. I hear distant chatter, music from the bars. I smell the food from the restaurants, taking me all over the world. Everything feels more peaceful. Everyone starts accepting reality that day is coming to an end. And especially I like people, wondering around like they in the city for the first time, trying to find where to go next to a dinner, party, hotel.

Barcelona, November 2008

There are so many places in our lives where we are surrounded with people, but we feel so alone. And sometimes there are places, where we are alone on a journey, but feel so connected. Connected not only with complete strangers, but with their souls, their exploring spirits, their adventurous hearts.

One of the hardest thing in the world is feeling lonely in a group of people. And one of the most beautiful thing is being one with lone seekers just like you.

This post is a part of my 30 Days Writing Challenge. Wanna join me? ;)

--

--