#Exercise 4 (of 30): Turn the tap off

You cannot clean the bathroom floor if the bathtub is still over-flowing.

Melvin Yuan
30 Decluttering Exercises to Prep for 2018
1 min readNov 29, 2017

--

My wife said yesterday that she was going to completely cut off spending on non-essentials for the entire month of December. (I asked her what she was doing – to join me in this decluttering program.)

My ears pricked up – not because I suddenly felt my wallet feeling heavier (seriously – who uses this expression nowadays) – but because it was essentially the perfect exercise to add.

Just as we cannot truly create with a cluttered canvas, we cannot truly declutter if we don’t turn the tap/s off – on our consumption/purchases.

It could be a shopping list that’s adding to your clutter. It could be more books and magazines you’re adding to your desk or reading list. It could be unneeded email subscriptions. Or even a string of non-essential events/meetings to attend.

So – what tap/s of consumption will you turn off… until you feel truly satisfied that you’ve gotten rid of the clutter in your life?

--

--