If Not Now, Then When? Looking Back, 3 Years Later…

Tim Maina
Tim’s 30 Streams
Published in
5 min readApr 1, 2014

Exactly 3 years ago today, I quit a well paying job in LA, packed all my stuff and moved to Las Vegas so that I could fully commit to my business. Looking back, this might have been the best decision I ever made. Here’s why…

Humble Beginnings

_DSC6023

This guy Josphat Ngugi from my old high school said this to me “Never despise your humble beginnings” he said it to me once I doubt he even remembers, but I will carry that sentence for the rest of my life.Watch movie online The Lego Batman Movie (2017)The Lego Batman Movie (2017)

With limited savings, no solid plan and uncertain of the future, quitting a comfortable job to move to a different state to pursue my passion wasn’t easy.

I remember writing 3 different notices to my boss only to tear them up and go back to work too scared to quit.

When I finally got the guts to speak my mind and tell my boss that I was planning on leaving- it felt so liberating. A few weeks later, I had everything packed and ready for the next chapter of my life.

April 1st 2011

_DSC8575

“If Not Now, Then When?” At around 9 am that awesome morning exactly 3 years ago, I was on the I-15N headed to Las Vegas.

Leaving LA behind was a bit tough for me because I love that city and the wonderful friends I had made. Nonetheless, I had to make this move.

The future was filled with a mixture of uncertainty & pure excitement. It was a sunny day, the perfect outward expression of exactly how I felt inside 🙂

Life is too short to be afraid of following your passion. So what if it doesn’t work out and you fail? “Failure and mistakes are nothing but pathways to attainment.”

Get To Work!

My small bedroom, my desk is in the right. This was my office for a year!

My small bedroom, my desk is in the right. This was my office for a year!

Action speaks louder than words but not nearly as often.”- Mark Twain. As soon as I got to Vegas and settled in my new place, I set up shop and immediately started reaching out to potential clients for Web & Graphic Design work. My first paid project was $50, I was ecstatic!

This was a solid confirmation that this business thing was absolutely possible after all. It was awesome to know that people were willing to pay for my services.

I was unstoppable working 15 hrs non-stop and loving it, all from my small bedroom.

Set Back

My car was vandalized twice and I had no money to fix it!

My car was vandalized twice and I had no money to fix it!

Crede sed proba“- “Trust but verify” Some business lessons hit you hard.

I completely trusted one of my clients who ended up refusing to pay on a $4,000 project that I had poured my heart, soul and finances into.

This set me back so bad that I was this close to giving up on the entire idea of running a business.

Looking back now, that amount is NOT a lot but back then, it was everything to me. I’ve made contracts and upfront payments my best friend ever since. I should have listened to my mom this whole time 🙂

Fast Forward

STANCE Branding Agency

Our new office location less that 3 minutes away from the famous Las Vegas strip!

The most beautiful moments always seemed to accelerate and slip beyond one’s grasp just when you want to hold onto them for as long as possible.” ― E.A. Bucchianeri, Brushstrokes of a Gadfly.

I have been having so much fun and too busy to notice that I’ve been living my dream this entire time. Looking back at the past 3 years, I’m humbled at the growth I’ve been able to achieve- both on a personal and business level.

Being able to grow maina+studios to STANCE has been a rewarding experience, financially, personally and professionally. This is 100% true: “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” ― Confucius.

Acknowledgements

This was one of the first Bible verses I memorized as a young boy. Thanks to Pr. Francis Maina

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.“- Philippians 4:13.

While others might say that I put in all the work and this and that, for me, God gets all the credit for my success so far.

He is the one that has given me the talent, wisdom, work ethic, patience, perseverance, supportive family, loyal friends, good (& bad) clients and much, much more. Without God, I can confidently say that I wouldn’t be where I am today.

I plan on continuing to serve him and keep him involved every step of my journey.

The Future

_DSC7088

The future looks bright!

Someone said, if you’re not growing, you’re dying. Growth has been a huge part of who I am and I plan on keeping it that way.

It comes as no surprise that when I decided to rebrand maina+studios to STANCE, I made it our purpose to only work with clients that are dedicated to making an impact on humanity– ones who want to see mankind grow and benefit from their offering and not merely profit from them.

Therefore, I will continue to work hard to contribute to the growth of as many purpose-driven organizations as I can.

It’s also worth mentioning that I am fully committed to becoming a millionaire. Too big a stretch? I don’t think so. Let’s review my progress in 3 years 🙂

In closing, as awesome as it is to look back at life, it is important to remember that “Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.” ― Søren Kierkegaard here’s to a great future!

--

--

Tim Maina
Tim’s 30 Streams

I experiment & blog about different business ideas and publicly share my earnings with the goal of creating 30 streams of passive income in my 30’s.