Damn You Harry

Samantha Warady
32 And Single
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2017

I grew up on chick flicks and Disney princesses. To this day, if I need a comfort movie, “ When Harry Met Sally” is my go to movie. I love everything about it. I love Meg Ryan before she became plastic and Billy Crystal, well, before he became plastic too. I love the grape seed scene, I love the wave scene, I love the karaoke (in Sharper Image!) scene and every single banter in between. I love the fact that Harry and Sally were best friends before they fell in love. He loved every annoying thing about her and knew her well enough to know how to deal with that. And to this wonderfully written movie, I say-

Damn you Harry.

Ever since I can remember I have wanted to fall in love with my friend. And I have tried. The horrible Ex I was telling you about, he was a good friend for 2 years before we got together. Every single male friend I have had, I have at least once in our relationship thought about what it would be like to be his girlfriend.

Last year I dated a guy that I knew when I was in the army. We were good friends then, but lost touch. I thought for sure this was going to be my cute story. Good friends, lost touch, reconnected and started dating and then we would fall in love and get married. Thank god that didn’t happen. But I stayed a month too long because I wanted him to be my Harry.

A couple months after that I went to Midburn(a mini Burning Man) with a bunch of friends. One of them was a good friend, whom I’ve known for the past 6 years. He is shorter then me. He is goofy and childish and can sometimes drive me crazy. But I am the only one who can talk to him and get him to do the things we needed done to survive in the desert. And while we were there, something changed in our relationship. We became closer then we normally were and he took care of me. Made sure I was ok. We started dating right after that.

It was weird and awkward when we were around our friends. We had no idea how to act around them. But when we were together, it was just so much fun. I laughed a lot. I could be 100 % me from the beginning because he already knew ALL my crazy. I couldn’t surprise him with anything. And when I did show him my crazy, I didn’t care or feel embarrassed- it was nothing he hasn’t seen before. He knew how to deal with it. I knew how to deal with him. But, we still broke up. He was supposed to be my Harry only he isn’t totally mature enough to deal with an adult relationship. I love him to death and we were able to remain friends…

But now I am officially out of Harrys.

--

--