I don’t…But, what..

Samantha Warady
32 And Single
Published in
2 min readJan 30, 2018

I’m pretty sure I’m considered a millenial. I think I checked it out and age wise-it’s true. I don’t feel like a millenial. I feel too adult to be one. But, according to Google- I am one. So I get texting as a way of life. I am always so surprised when my phone actually rings and ask the same question each time- Who could be calling me??

I get texting as a way of dating too. I have given up on guys actually calling me after I have given them my number. I’m always surprised for the better when a guy actually presses send and here a ringing sound on the other end.

But, because of texting there have been some weird conversations with guys. I’m not talking about the occasional dick pick, which I have gotten(and was pissed when it happened). I had texted with a cute guy about a week and a half ago. He asked when we could get together and we made a date for that Thursday. When Thursday came around, I asked what the plans were and he said he was sick(he had a cold, but to a guy-that’s considered being sick). I told him to drink some tea and curl up on the couch and feel better. I didn’t hear from him again. I was fine with it. As you all know, I HATE dating.

Then yesterday I get a text from him. He asked how I was and I told him I was fine. I was polite and asked how he was and he told me he was good. I said great. And that was it.

I sat there looking at my phone, confused. I probably muttered something along the lines of- but…what…I mean…why did you…? What was the point of this conversation? Did you have a dream about me in danger and worry that you wouldn’t make it in time to save me? Were you conducting a survey of everybody’s day? Why?

I just…I don’t know…I mean…what….?

--

--