Super Aunt

Samantha Warady
32 And Single
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2018

Both my parents wrote Medium blogs(posts? I don’t know…) about what kind of grandparents they are going to be.

My turn.

My sister and I are very different people. Don’t get me wrong, we’re friends and know each other pretty well, but our minds are wired differently. When she told me she thought she might be pregnant(before she took any tests)so soon after the wedding I started asking questions- are you ready for this? You just got married, shouldn’t you wait? What about money? A place to put the baby when it comes? I immediately started to worry.Luckily, her mind is wired differently because she said- it will all be ok.

And she’s right. The second she told me I was going to be an aunt, I didn’t worry, I didn’t think it was too soon- I immediately fell in love. She is supposed to give birth(god willing)in July and I am already in love with this soon to be person. I have never ever felt instant love like that.

Now for the part of what kind of aunt I’m going to be: Little Person To Be, you will be glad to know that I am a daycare teacher, so I get you. You want to play the same make believe game over and over 10 times in a row- I’ve got you back. You want me to read this story for the third time straight- no problem dude.

Diapers? There is nothing you can do there that will shock or scare me.

The kids in my class can tell you- my kisses heal ALL boo-boos.

You wanna tell me a story that is about a sentence long but takes you half an hour to tell it? I’ve got the time and the patience.

You want to put your own shoes on before we leave and then have to take them off because it took you so long we now have to get ready for bed? That’s cool, I just love haning out with you-even if it’s just by the door.

You feel the need to lie on the floor in the middle of the mall because your gloves match and it ruined your life? Not embarrassed, totally chill.

I know all this has to happen so you can grow into an amazing person I’m sure your Mom and Dad will raise you to be.

And to that person I want to say- I will always keep your secrets, I will always be your should and a place to hang out when your mom and dad are ruining your life. I will always have advice(most of it will probably even be really good). And I will always laugh at your inappropriate joke(so will your Zadie by the way). I can not wait to meet you!

(Is your Mom crying yet? I bet you she’s crying……………..I bet you MY Mom is crying too!)

--

--