Everyday Persuasion

Jade Renée Grisham
320 WRDs
Published in
2 min readSep 25, 2019

Personally, I feel that I use at least one of these appeals each and every day of my life. More specifically, I would say that I use pathos in my day-to-day life. Whether it be from just trying to be nice to a friend or a co-worker. With my critical and argumentative personality, I also use logos quite often because I thoroughly enjoy being right and proving others wrong — however, I do love to learn and not be right as well. Therefore, I definitely have to have logic to back up the claims that I make. In regard to ethos, I do not use it as much in my daily life as I use it in the means of homework and school related activities. They are completely interrelated with one another, even if they are contradicting or being used for different purposes. They are interrelated when shaping a valid argument and/or persuasive matter. I notice when someone or myself utilize all three appeals that the argument always appears stronger, because it is able to be tied into all of the appeals that make an argument valid. The audience is driven by things that they can relate to, or things that make them feel a type of way. In my opinion, I invent rhetorical discourse by proposing a question of some sort. Whether it be a “rhetorical” question (no pun intended) or a question intended with an answer, it will get some sort of response. However, I feel that a question that is asked that has no intention of a true, descriptive response is the one that you will receive the most information. Strategies that I use when inventing discourse would be to ask a question or propose a statement in a very specific way; meaning the wording has to be formatted perfectly that the idea can get across effectively.

--

--