Medium Post 2!!!!!!

Gabe Rivera
320 WRDs
Published in
1 min readSep 30, 2019

Throughout life, we find ourselves in rhetorical situations, daily. Whether it be convincing your roommate to let you do laundry first, or defending yourself in an argument, invention arises, and we attempt to determine the best available means of persuasion. In doing so, three persuasive appeals come to mind, ethos, pathos, and logos, and these techniques allow us to apply invention to many rhetorical situations. An example from my life where applying the three appeals to invention comes from is during Greek Rush. As an officer and active member of a fraternity here at Kentucky, I participate extensively in rush week, where hundreds of potential new members inquire about the fraternity I represent. I apply all three techniques of persuasion in every conversation I have with the new members, but the one that stands out the most is pathos, the emotional appeal. A lot of guys come out to rush knowing very few people, especially the ones from out of state. Interestingly, I relate to that, as I come from Chicago, and rushed for the sole purpose of finding a group of guys who I could call my best friends. With this in mind, when I converse with a new member, I analyze the conversation to first figure out where they’re from to determine if I could use pathos as a persuasive appeal. If he happens to be from out of state, invention arises and I use pathos to relate to him on a personal level which helps me persuade the individual to gain more interest in my fraternity.

--

--