Avoid The Soggy Fruit Loop Feeling

Madelein Black
36 Degrees North
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2016

Networking is everything. Well, not literally everything, but it’s pretty close. First, to make friends you have to meet people (obviously, right?). Second, people are always telling me that it’s all about who you know. And they are totally right! Getting a job, achieving goals, receiving inspiration, and obtaining support can be completely dependent on the relationships you’ve formed.

One of the first things I noticed when I began my internship at 36°N is that I was interacting with endless amounts of people. Each person varied in their jobs, strengths, passions, and personalities. While I am definitely an extravert, approaching and meeting new people has always intimidated me. However, after being introduced to countless people, not only am I more comfortable approaching people, but I have also gained new friendships and connections to additional opportunities. Both of these are of extreme value.

As an added bonus, your new connections may even save you from the rain! Who wants to smell like a wet dog? Or feel like a soggy bowl of fruit loops (from being soaking wet)? Not me! Sarah, the other intern, shared her umbrella with another member she had just met at 36°N on a rainy day.

Like Rihanna would say, “Now that it’s raining more than ever, know that we’ll still have each other, you can stand under my umbrella”. Figuratively and literally.

--

--