MonYAY!

Madelein Black
36 Degrees North
Published in
2 min readJun 28, 2016

I read an article yesterday about how to flirt with a stranger. Why I was reading this you might ask? Good question and it doesn’t matter. Regardless, there were multiple tips in this article. For example, one included that if it was Monday to go up to this attractive stranger and say, “oh Monday’s are just the worst, aren’t they?”. The article explains that this tip is useful because it is likely that everyone will relate to this comment. “Absolutely not”, I thought to myself. There is so much talk in the media (usually in meme form) about the “Sunday Scaries” and hating Monday’s. It offers an idea that not only are Monday’s awful, but also that people are scared on Sunday’s because Monday is soon to follow. But why do people hate Monday’s? Monday never did anything to us!

At 36°N I’ve never once felt this dread. To be honest, I look forward to entering those doors every day. Weekends are a good time to relax and reset, but I get excited about Monday’s because that means I get a week of exciting atmospheres, beneficial learning, and being surrounded by uplifting friends. If you don’t get pumped about Monday’s, introduce something into your routine that will bring you happiness. Whether that’s waking up to watch the sunrise, planning an early breakfast gathering, or whatever it may be- do something. For me, my Monday (and everyday) happiness is right here at 36°N.

Once I read a shirt that said “You don’t hate Mondays, you hate your job”. It was right.

--

--