Nikon KeyMission is not a photo camera

Arek Stryjski
360°North
Published in
2 min readSep 2, 2017

In the beginning, when playing with Nikon KeyMission 360, I was making both photos and videos. After viewing the pictures, I found it pointless. I’m still going to make traditional photos with my old camera, but I will use KeyMission only for video.

Some people complain that the images made with KeyMission are not sharp. But I made this decision, not because of the quality of the picture.
As with any previous DSLR camera, I will not expect the photo to be ready for publishing straight from the camera. Processing it on the computer feels like an integral part of the process.
To buy this kind of camera and not like to correct colours and sharpen picture manually feels somehow wrong. In the end, if all this should be done automatically why not using a phone?

My decision comes from the observation that you use still flat photos to show something to someone. You use 360° video to transfer someone somewhere.
For this, to work it should involve as many senses as possible. The sound is indispensable and is available only with video. Without the sound, it feels incomplete, and the big part of the experience is missing.

I think because KeyMission is made by Nikon, some people believe it could be a replacement for the old DSLR. For me, it is a replacement, but for GoPro.
It feels like huge improvement comparing to it. It is water and dustproof without any special housing. The sound quality is decent for the camera I can dive with. And of course, it makes 360° video, so I hope the viewer will be able to immerse himself more into my world.

In case I will need some little world photos, I could always cut them from the video as I did with the one published here.

If you like this article, please clap your hand below — you can do it more than once.
Also please subscribe to 360°North on
Medium, YouTube and Facebook.

--

--

Arek Stryjski
360°North

Sailor and skipper. Believing true adventures are still possible.