I made a thing!

Zhanxi Ni
365 Days of Code
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2020

UPDATE: I shipped an app to Heroku that uses the TripAdvisor API. It’s helping me to incorporate frontend into a web app and revisit some simple Node.js. I also wrote a tutorial (published on RapidAPI) on how to do it, that’s in the works to be published by an online website. All of which, I’m extremely excited about.

Check out the views for my simple Explore the World web app!

Simple Version 1.0 designs for the Explore the World web app.

Although I didn’t exactly meet the goals of coding 4 hrs per day (just yet), I did create something that I’m proud of and learned a lot. My Github commit streak is a bit empty for January, but I was able to get in a few green squares in there toward the end.

Green squares for my January Github commits! Yay!

Here is the code.

This year was off to a rough start, but I’m hopeful that I’ll continue coding things that yield interesting results. I’m going to continue updating Explore the World web app with Version 2/3/4… until it looks amazing, using interesting design elements/ideas, and adding backend with better design and coding practices. I can’t wait to link the official blog post here!

Meanwhile, here is the original design for the website and eventual vision that I have for the final website:

Vision sketch board

Users should be able to book flights and hotels and store their itinerary on the web app, using information from TripAdvisor.

Until next time :)

--

--