What is 365 Days of Coding?

Aaron Vontell
365 Days of Coding
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2018

An increasingly common goal that I’ve seen among many designers is to complete one design, logo, or UI every day for an entire year. The idea is that publishing 365 designs will further your proficiency, and a great example of this can be seen from Marko Stupić.

As a software developer who has been writing code for quite some time, I know how important practice is; my Summer and Winter breaks from school have been filled with hours upon hours of programming, creating Android apps, websites, and other random snippets of code. From my own experience, I know that not only does practice makes perfect, but practice is also best conducted with the helper of others. Countless tutorials and StackOverflow posts have helped me become the developer that I am today.

My goal for this series of posts and stories is to publish short snippets of useful content for aspiring developers, especially those looking to do freelance work. My posts will include snippets of code for platforms such Android and NodeJS, as well as lessons in accessibility, web hosting, and entrepreneurship. I will personally be using this chance to make sure that I make progress on my company, Vontech Software, each and every day. My challenge to you is this: use this as inspiration and proof that working hard and practicing each and every day will help you become the developer that you want to be.

Now, with 365 days of design, one needs to upload the finished design, which is usually enough to get the idea across of their progress. However, while these small code snippets also only take a few hours, the written tutorial takes the same or even more amount of time to write. Therefore, while 365 Days of Coding is centered around the idea of coding every day, I will publish a new tutorial once every week. Overall, I therefore hope to publish 52+ tutorials (with the occasional SideTalk and GuestNotes from friends and colleagues) throughout the year.

I hope you learn something useful along the way!

--

--

Aaron Vontell
365 Days of Coding

Software Engineer @ Instabase, Founder of Vontech Software, LLC | Developer, Aspiring Entrepreneur, MIT MEng ‘18