Live life to the fullest! (Image via unsplash)

The reasons why I love the 30-year-old me.

Alvis Ng
DotDotDot
Published in
3 min readApr 21, 2016

--

Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving. — Albert Einstein

I am not a CEO, I am not a billionaire, I don’t have a mansion, I don’t have a Ferrari, I don’t have a jet… But I’m a very RICH man, a very RICH 30-year-old man, and it’s extremely joyful to be that man.

When I say I love my 30-year-old-life, I mean…

  1. I have a belief; I came to believe in God in the year 2011 and my life never be same again since that day. It’s 2016 and I still holding on to the fact that If HE can transform the old me, I believe I have everything to move forward.
  2. I have a laser focus; everything I am doing now is for the change I want to see next second.
  3. I am extremely motivated; I wake up at 4.30 am everyday to get myself closer to my life vision.
  4. I have a lovely family; I recently learned that I can love my family more than money and career. I have a very lovely wife who loves me tirelessly, a mother and sister who always there for me when I need them.
  5. I read a lot; A lot more than I have read before the entire past 30 years. 1 book in 2.5 weeks, I just love it! I just completed David and Goliath during my vacation last week, learned a lot of how to leverage what you have to achieve what you want tomorrow. What is better than becoming wiser?
  6. I listen a lot too; I recently realize that I learned more from listening than talking. That includes listening from great people around the world. Instead of listening to latest pop, I listen to podcast everyday when I drive to work. Starting from Nothing and TEDTalks are my everyday speakers. I couldn’t be more happy listening them with JBL Flip 3 that solved my problem of not having a modern car audio system.
  7. I know how to say “NO”; Unless it is a “Hell yeah! Let’s do it now!”, I would go with a big “NO”.
  8. I don’t have FANCY clothing no more; I only wear all dark blue or white tops everyday. I am free from what-to-wear-syndrome.
  9. I don’t compare anymore; everyone is unique, we come from different background equipped with very different talents and possessions. We never really lack of anything, everyone has enough to do what they want to do. So why compare?
  10. I don’t care unconstructive feedback; I remember I’ve developed a little mindset hack for myself in 2015 and it goes like this: “We tend to face challenges everyday, we can’t avoid that. This applies to the people around us too, we need to expect there will be at least one asshole trying to upset you everyday. So when they come, I’ll have my heart and nerves prepared and say “HERE I AM! COME AT ME BRO!” ”.

Conclusion

Life in 30s is full of excitements, it is a chapter where I learn a lot of new things everyday. Constantly developing strategies to utilize my 24-hour productively and try to live the best out of it. I am RICH because I no longer focusing on the material-driven lifestyle, but rather on my life experience.

Thank you for reading my story. If you enjoyed this post, please do recommend 💚 and share it to the world!

You can also find me here: Twitter, LinkedIn

--

--

Alvis Ng
DotDotDot

Senior Software Engineer at YOPESO and Creator of Hyoogoo.com, I pursue a life of greatness, living every moment to my fullest potential, beyond mere existence.