Recipe #141 Farmhouse French Toast

Best Roommate Award goes to this kid.

Kelsey Cary
365 Recipes 

--

Luckily I have a roommate who is open (most days) to my cooking and will happily sample meals I throw together. This morning, I opted for another allrecipes find. The recipes on the site are easy to manipulate and produce decent sweet treats. This French toast was no exception.

Like most other recipes, I added a touch of this and a pinch of that. This otherwise bland bread required apples and raisins caramelized in a baby bit of brown sugar and a little butter. Toasted pecans added some crunch. I made a third of the recipe because there was no way Justin and I would attempt to split 12 pieces of French Toast. I used generic whole wheat bread from Kroger. I substituted brown sugar for white and served immediatelely.

Who tasted the toast? Justin and I.

Takeaways: Use nicer bread next time.

April 10, 2014. Day 140. Recipe #141.

--

--

Kelsey Cary
365 Recipes 

High School History teacher. Oakland was home. Now living a semi-charmed life in Charlottesville, Virginia.