Microsoft Teams Rooms User Experience

Matt Ellis
Jul 29, 2019 · 5 min read

I’ve been meaning to do this for a while, but since the recent 4.0.105.0 update to the Skype Room System (SRS) which has now become Microsoft Teams Room (MTR), I thought I would summarise the user experience in and out of a Teams meeting, with and without content, single or dual screen.

Note: The screenshots will show the new ‘Universal bar for in-meeting call controls’ when in a Teams meeting. Whilst announced as part of 4.0.105.0 this is actually being rolled out via the Teams rings that your organisation will be part of. I *think* this is GA in Ring 4 but I’m not 100% sure.

First off, please let me apologise for the horrendous photos of a shiny touch panel. I will update these with some proper screenshots when I have time.

Secondly, we have our dual-display MTR systems setup so that video shows on the left display and content shows on the right.

No meeting — Sharing content — Single display

Not a whole lot to mention here to be honest.

Just plug in the content cable and it will automatically present to the display (if you have this feature enabled in settings). You can choose to stop presenting by tapping the Stop Presenting button on the touch panel.

No meeting — Sharing content — Dual display

If you don’t want content on both displays you can tap the Settings cog icon in the bottom right of the touch panel and tap Stop Duplicating. The left hand screen will return to the normal primary screen with the clock and room name etc.

You can duplicate the content again by tapping the Settings cog and then tapping Duplicate Content.

One thing to note is that you cannot swap the screens around when you’re not in a call. In non-duplicating mode, the content will only be on the content screen.

Teams meeting — No content — Single display

Note: the 3 dots hide the keypad button.

Teams meeting — No content — Dual display

Teams meeting — Sharing content — Single display

Pressing the layout button removes the video participants from the right-hand side and makes the content full screen. The layout button changes and allows you to switch back to show the video participants again.

Note the content button now has a cross on it, meaning you can stop sharing content into the call. The content will remain on the front of room displays but will no longer be shared to remote participants. Microsoft use a red outline to the content to indicate it is being shared into the call. In my opinion they need some kind of text to make this clearer (like when you’re in a Skype meeting).

Teams meeting — Sharing content — Dual display

Rate My Call

365 UC

Stories from the world of UC by a bunch of UC…

Medium is an open platform where 170 million readers come to find insightful and dynamic thinking. Here, expert and undiscovered voices alike dive into the heart of any topic and bring new ideas to the surface. Learn more

Follow the writers, publications, and topics that matter to you, and you’ll see them on your homepage and in your inbox. Explore

If you have a story to tell, knowledge to share, or a perspective to offer — welcome home. It’s easy and free to post your thinking on any topic. Write on Medium

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store