Prerequisite installation failed: SqlInstanceRtcLocal -2067922934

Matt Ellis
365 UC
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2018

Note: I wrote this back in March 2013, but I got rid of my Wordpress site and wanted to move it over to Medium. It was still getting a fair few hits so thought I’d republish.

I encountered a problem earlier today when installing Lync Server 2013. When installing the local configuration store on the Enterprise Edition Front End server it would always stop at Prerequisite installation failed: SqlInstanceRtcLocal with a failure code of -2067922934.

Aside from the failure code there wasn’t much to indicate the issue. Google searches weren’t very fruitful.

In the end I had to run the command to install SQL manually without the /QUIET switch to find out what was going wrong. As it turns out I did not have the required rights to install SQL.

Command:

SQLEXPR_x64.exe /IACCEPTSQLSERVERLICENSETERMS /HIDECONSOLE /ACTION=Install /FEATURES=SQLEngine,Tools /INSTANCENAME=RTCLOCAL /TCPENABLED=1 /SQLSVCACCOUNT=”NT AUTHORITYNetworkService” /SQLSYSADMINACCOUNTS=”BuiltinAdministrators” /BROWSERSVCSTARTUPTYPE=”Automatic” /AGTSVCACCOUNT=”NT AUTHORITYNetworkService” /SQLSVCSTARTUPTYPE=Automatic

So, after opening Local Security Policy and navigating to Local Policies > User Rights Assignment I was able to confirm I had the correct rights:

  • Debug programs (this was the one I was missing)
  • Backup files and directories
  • Manage auditing and security log

I then had to logoff and back on for this to take effect. The installer was then able to get past this point and finish the install.

--

--

Matt Ellis
365 UC
Editor for

Unified Communications guy, Pompey fan, burger eater, coffee drinker...