Why I became a fan of Starbucks

Free coffee and how it soothes the soul

Ganit Nayyar
36 Chapters
5 min readJul 19, 2022

--

June George / Unsplash

I was in a Starbucks drive-thru. Ordering a latte, I finished speaking and proceeded to wait in line. Waiting 3 or 4 minutes, I briefly wondered, why isn’t the car ahead of me moving? There were only two of us in line. And, at the moment, things felt a little slow.

Now keep in mind, that this was not a large ordeal. Within seconds, the car ahead left and I drove up to the window.

Two people came to the divider and began to apologize.

“Sorry to keep you waiting, sir. We gave the wrong drink to the person ahead of you. We appreciate you waiting, please take this iced frappe, on us.”

“You don’t have to do that” I responded out of surprise. “People wait all the time.”

No, it’s okay sir. We would really feel better if you took the drink.

Wow, I thought. This is a tremendous overkill. And really it was. The drink itself was massive.

My Latte (Left) & my free Iced Frappe (Right)

Hoisting an extra-large chocolate mocha iced coffee into my hands, I was left without words. I thanked them both sincerely, paid for the latte and took both drinks home. Innately it felt unneeded. There really isn’t a need to give something free after a brief wait. Especially something as big, tall and expensive as the cold coffee. But then it clicked.

This is good business.

Beyond good, it’s great.

Now, remember that giving away a free drink is not a huge deal for a coffee shop. But, the gesture and thought behind the action itself is incredibly significant. From my standpoint, this effect occurs in several ways.

Primarily it reinforces the notion that the customer matters.

(Photo Source)

It shows that Starbucks respects the time and investment of their patrons and is mindful of their importance to the survival of the company. It signals that, without customers, there is no Starbucks. And, if a customer is wronged, or could even be potentially wronged, that happenstance should be rectified.

Why? Because the customer is essential.

Starbucks knows that you matter to the company. Beyond profits, you’re its most important asset. Without you, there is no need for them to open the doors.

As such, the customer is always right.

Secondly, this action indicates the company’s high standards.

DocuSign / Unsplash

Prior to this, I’ve waited at other fast-food chains for longer. And I mean, much much longer. Without receiving so much as an apology, I’ve come to find this behaviour commonplace and not something that requires rectification. At a drive-thru, you have to wait for service.

That’s life right?

Not at Starbucks.

This action showed me that Starbucks has a much higher bar than its competitors. They don’t want seemingly usual irregularities to occur. They want better than usual. They want you to feel like shopping at Starbucks is an experience. One that matters more than just a quick coffee run. They want Starbucks to feel special.

I think that’s why little things matter at Starbucks. That’s why the baristas seem friendlier. Or why they write your name on the cup. Or why you get a free drink on your birthday. The standard is higher at Starbucks. They want you to feel cared about. They want you to remember that there is an upper echelon to the normative cafe experience.

Furthermore, it creates positive word of mouth and a chance to gain new customers

Product School / Unsplash

I brought this iced coffee home and my mother and I shared the drink. A new and interesting cold beverage on a hot summer's day, it’s a wonderful feeling. It creates a good moment and a pleasant memory. And now here I am, enamoured enough to want to write about this experience. That’s good Marketing. When somebody treats us with respect or dignity, it’s a positive experience that we all want to share.

Furthermore, when a business goes out of its way to provide an interaction outside of the norm, it allows for a strong variance in reaction. Now, I’m not huge on frappe’s, and I probably won’t order it again. But what if this became somebody’s new favourite drink? What if this seemingly innocuous action produces a customer who wants this beverage seemingly every single day?

In that case, the expected value of a disposable product that somebody loves is much higher than the costs associated with giving a single unit away for free.

From this standpoint, why not give away a free drink? In the worst case, it feels good. In the best case, you’ve gained new loyalty.

Lastly, it demonstrates kindness

Dayne Topkin / Unsplash

Beyond business, I’d like to think that the people who worked at that Starbucks were just nice. Commercial logic aside, it feels good to be thought of.

The world feels like a better place to live in when we’re united in the belief that we care for each other. That we all share the same planet and that we can enjoy the goodness in sharing it together.

Kindness can be as momentous as helping a friend through hard times or as simple as giving away free coffee. Ultimately, there are a few better feelings than generosity. I believe life is about little things. Small gestures. Kind words. Nothing too large.

After this experience, I feel inclined to visit Starbucks more often. Being treated well goes a long way. Furthermore, it’s hard to return to something lesser after experiencing a higher threshold for service.

All in all, I’m happy to have been a patron that day.

Thanks a latte, Starbucks.

Buddi2019 / Fiverr

See you soon.

If you found this interesting, you may like this piece I wrote about losing my car.

--

--