Christina Sieber
Tourism Networking
Published in
4 min readApr 4, 2016

--

How Waitressing Helped me Land my Dream Job

Throughout my college and university studies, the word “networking” was thrown around quite a lot. Professors always pressed on the importance of developing our network for the future. But one thing that was often omitted in the classroom and textbooks was how you actually go about doing this. The thing is, what you learn in the classroom is just a small piece of the puzzle. Developing good networking skills is one of those things you really have to learn-by-doing. Different people do this in different ways. I happened to do this through hospitality work. 10 years in the hospitality industry definitely taught me how to network but more importantly, it taught me just how valuable of a skill it really is. And long behold, today I work for 3BaysOver, an up and coming networking platform for tourism professionals.

I started working in my first restaurant when I was barely 16 years old. It’s the kind of work you either love or hate, and needless to say, I loved it. The rush, the chaos, the doing a million things at once and the well-deserved celebratory drinks at the end of a busy night… I was completely hooked from the start! After that I slowly worked my way through just about every service industry job you can imagine. I was a hostess, a food runner, I bused tables , worked in hotels, where I did every job from cleaning dishes, to cleaning rooms, to running karaoke nights, and I even had a short stint rolling sushi (turns out vegetarians and raw fish don’t mix too well). Eventually, I worked my way up to become a server/ bartender and as far I was concerned I had made it! Some people might not understand why I was so excited about making this leap, but in Montreal where servers in busy restaurants make more than most professionals, it’s a pretty good gig for a 19 year old student.

After a couple training shifts, I was ready for my first customers. I came in excited and ready to start making some serious cash. But believe it or not, that is not what happened. Between having only a few customers, the terrible tips, and the steep tip-out, I walked out of my 10-hour shift with a whopping $10… Not exactly the wad of cash I was expecting. I was confused to say the least. That’s when a senior waitress said something that has stuck with me ever since: “Honey, give it time, you got to build your clientele!” There it was, my first lesson in networking, long before I ever attended my first university class. Like in every industry great clients are not just blatantly handed to you; you have to work for them.

Being a fairly shy person, at first it was terrifying to put myself out there. I started slow by simply utilizing my nights out. I’d meet people anyways, why not invite them to come by my bar the next day for a drink. I also got more comfortable chatting with customers, making sure they came again and this time to see me. Developing relationships was what it was all about. You’d think that remembering the customer’s order and bringing them what they asked for in a timely manner is what makes you a good server, while these qualities are important, they will not bring customers back; creating real connections with them will.

However, I soon learnt the most important connections to create where those with my peers. Networking with servers and bar staff from the restaurants and bars I frequented made for a mutual beneficial situation. Firstly, your peers make for the best clients, they are always understanding, loyal and generous. Secondly, if they had a great experience, they’ll recommend your venue and more importantly you to their customers. Clients always ask for recommendations on where to go next, and chances are we’ll recommend a place we know well, a place where we can be sure the client will get great service and have a good time. And this of course goes both ways, it’s a win-win-win, you grow your customer base, your peers grow their customer base, and the clients always get the best service and experience.

About 6 months ago I reluctantly hung up my waitressing pouch and traded it in for a desk and computer. However, I was fortunate enough to find a job that allows me to continue to do what I love, which is to connect with other people, and which allows me to help others do the same. Many tourism professionals need to network with their peers from around the world, but inviting them over for a drink or meeting them at their place of business the way I have done in the past, just isn’t an option when they’re 3 time zones apart, as is often the case. Developing these relationships is such vital part of doing business in this industry and it is the only way to ensure that customers receive the best overall experience, but finding a feasible way for them to do this has proven to be difficult. Social media has played a huge role in bringing people from all over the world closer together. 3BaysOver is the social media that helps tourism professionals from around the globe stay connected, and I am thrilled to be a part of that.

--

--