Week 4: Importing 3D Models into Maya

Stella Widjaya
3D Arts & Aesthetics — Fall 2021
2 min readOct 11, 2021

This week I tried importing the 3D models I have selected from last week into Maya. However, once I have imported the FBX file, the scale seems to be very big and I find myself having a hard time navigating through the scene since I am new to Maya, so in the beginning it took quite some time to get myself around it.

One of My Early Attempts Navigating Through Maya

After importing all the 3D models into Maya and finally getting used to the navigation, I started assembling the elements together into the scene based on the quick sketch I drew from last week.

Putting Elements Together Into The Scene
Current Composition

I initially plan on working on a vertical format, but this horizontal format could possibly work better for the downloaded terrain, but I will play around more with the composition next week to figure out which is best to capture the scene. Also some of the textures might not get imported to Maya so I have to figure that out and apply some myself for these objects.

Links to 3D Models

Here I will be providing the links to all of the 3D model sources I am using for this exterior project. Some of the ones I found last week do not have FBX or OBJ files so I had to look for other options, but below are the ones I am using for the above composition.

  1. Mountain Terrain
  2. Tree
  3. Moon
  4. Bonfire
  5. Lantern
  6. Flower

--

--