Inorganic Micro-Moments

Julianna Kuetemeyer
3Point Perspective
Published in
4 min readSep 15, 2020

I’m a SAHM. If you’re in marketing, this should tell you a lot. The two most important:

  1. I am the purse-string gate-keeper. It’s like this is most homes. Women have either total control of or a large influence over purchases whether big or small. I do all the general shopping for everyone, and, if we need something special, I tell my husband exactly what to get — brand, color, size, flavor, what-have-you.
  2. I have no time. Zero. My time is my children’s.

If you’re smart, you’re using the great advancements in digital marketing and data to influence me to choose, and continue to use, your brand.

More often than not, I go through the day un-showered, wearing the ever-so-versatile atheleisure outfit from…yesterday? The only thing I remember to do for myself is coffee. But even then, it sits made in the pot, or in my “World’s OKest Mom” mug until it’s cold. I like to call this a mom’s cold brew😉.

As a parent, your schedule is never your own. I wake up when my sleepy eyed toddler walks into my room at 7am armed with Hot Wheels, asking for “cereal milk with marshmallows,” and go to bed after my newborn lets out her last burp/fart/diaper of the day (often 1am). In between, I have to keep to a loose schedule dictated by two tiny humans’ eating, sleeping, and potting habits. Because of this, I forget things.

Brands of the world, this is your opening. You can capture and contain my attention, and my money, by delivering well-timed, personalized messaging that reminds or suggests. Or as I like to call it, triggering an inorganic micro-moment.

Micro-moments occur when people reflexively turn to a device — increasingly a smartphone — to act on a need to learn something, do something, discover something, watch something, or buy something. They are intent-rich moments when decisions are made and preferences shaped (Google). Google is talking about the organic micro-moment.

Organic micro-moment.

This is initiated by the individual organically due to a trigger in their everyday life and thoughts.

Inorganic micro-moment.

This is a micro-moment triggered by informed and well-timed marketing. These include reminders and complimentary/recommended goods and services that are personalized and timed accordingly, thus triggering a need to know more, buy something, do something, watch something, discover something, and offering a solution to fulfill the need.

The inorganic micro-moment is where marketing needs to be. This is exciting!

Let’s take what can be assumed about me as a SAHM, combine it with some big data, and list off some messaging that would strike gold.

The Grocery Store

I digital coupon clip. My grocery list doesn’t vary much from week to week. My grocery store should know the brands I buy, what day and time I go shopping, and roughly how many kids and what ages they are from my purchasing habits (and if they asked, I’d probably tell them exacts). They should also know how frequently I buy certain items.

I have their app, they have my mobile number, my email, and my home address. Here’s what they can do to increase my buying, make me switch brands, and/or make me a die hard loyalist.

Data needed:

  • kid’s ages
  • average weight/size at certain ages
  • frequency of purchases (personal and aggregated)
  • usual brand purchased
  • average milestones at specific ages
  • average time of purchase (of day/week/month)

Potential messages:

  1. Push message or text sent a day before usual shopping day:

“Need more diapers? Try *brand name* and save 5$ instantly. <Clip coupon now > <Add size 3 diapers to list>”

2. Email sent after buying PullUps for TWO YEARS…

“ Got a stubborn potty trainee? Check out these articles recommended by other potty training parents.<link>”

“Dirty carpet? Try this carpet shampoo brand.<Clip coupon for carpet shampoo> <Add carpet shampoo to shopping list>.”

“Need potty treats or prizes? 5% off instantly <clip coupon> <add potty treats/prizes to shopping list>”

“On those particularly stubborn days, brand x wine has your back. $3 off brand x wine <clip coupon> <add to shopping list>”

3. Increase purchases, potential to change brands, build store and product brand loyalty: In-mail coupons at appropriate ages.

“Hey mama! Need any of this? <Coupons for teethers, diaper cream, bath soaps, lotion, kids pain killer, kids vitamins, tooth brush, insert any other appropriate non-regularly purchased items here>”

4. Increase frequency of purchase, increase store brand loyalty: Push message sent 2 hours before average time of particle item usually purchased.

“Your ice cream is on sale. Come stock up.”

5. Increase coffee consumption, build loyalty to store brand: Push message sent around lunch time on a Monday.

“Bleh. Mondays. Maybe an afternoon coffee is in order.😴”

All of these seem simple enough, right? Inorganic micro-moments can be remarkable. It just takes the right brand and with the right tools to think through your persona’s day-to-day.

Know a brand already doing this? Please share!

***This article was originally written in 2017 and published in Sept 2020.

--

--

Julianna Kuetemeyer
3Point Perspective

Judger of UX & marketing. Wife of a woodworker. Mother of Kuetees.