The Subtle art of not giving a fuck

Syed Shoeb
3rd side of a story
3 min readJun 11, 2018

#Inspiration

This is about one of the incidents’ where I learnt to not give a flying fuck about what others think about you.

The only thing that matters is they are thinking about you!

prologue:

This is the incident between me and this crazy guy named BRO (Name not disclosed) who was 1-year senior to me. He was supposed to pass out 1 year before me, but it turns out that he did not clear all his courses and was still in college while all of his batch mates have already started working or doing masters or whatever.

I was always a good in my academics right from my childhood. Also, I was doing fine for myself in my engineering and have not flunked in any course yet in my life.

Incident:

When I met this guy, he was smoking and having two cigarettes each in one hand. I asked him “Bro, why are you smoking two at a time?”

he replied “I always used to smoke along with my friend who has already graduated and now is working for some mnc. So, I do this every time to honor our friendship.” After listening to him I was like “Bro! you rock.”

A week later I got my results for the previous semester and it turns out that I flunked in 2 courses. Yep! that’s bad ……really really bad (at least I felt it was really bad). I was feeling so depressed and was worried about what my friends, relatives and everyone would think.

To relax myself I go out and coincidentally I happen to meet Bro again. As always, he was smoking but this time he had only one cigarette in his hand!

We started talking and he noticed that I was not in my bright mood and realized that I was going through something. He just asked me what was wrong with and why I look so stressed? Then I explained him my side of the story about flunking in 2 courses and how it could impact my career, and these were his exact words to me (his side of the story)

“Syed after a year or two you won’t even remember that you failed in exams and failing in exams doesn’t meant that you failed in life. Just suck it up, smoke it out and move on. Look at me I still have 3 courses to clear to get my degree and tell me if I look worried……just chill dude.”

I was telling myself that this dude is such a looser and I’d never wanna end up like him. It actually didn’t matter what people around him thought about him he was completely on another level of chilling.

I couldn’t help myself noticing that he was smoking only 1 cigarette this time I asked him,

“bro why are you smoking only 1 cigarette? Don’t you wanna honor your friendship today? “ He replied, “I quit smoking Syed, this one is for my friend that bastard can’t quit”

I told myself that bro is not gonna complete his degree anytime soon with this level of chills

fast forward to 6 months>>>>

Then 6 months later I see his post on Facebook with Ranveer Singh (Famous Bollywood actor). Apparently, he was casted in one of his movies’ in a very relevant role.

Now he is doing movies with all big celebrities and he himself is an emerging celebrity.

3rd side of a story:

It’s not about how you survive the storm, it’s always about how you dance in the rain!

Let others do what they always do.

keep going as success is just around the corner, you will reach it!

Next article is “3rd side to digital’ism”, stay tuned and follow my blog.

--

--

Syed Shoeb
3rd side of a story

Building DeFi and crypto products | Thought Leader Hackernoon, Bitcoin Market Journal | Most viewed Crypto Columnist on Quora