Alabama Sunrise

Jenita Lawal
40+ and Writing
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2021

The dawning of love lost

Photo by Jannic Böhme on Unsplash

It didn’t seem real, standing on the boat landing with him behind me. His arms were wrapped around me as we stood in silence, watching the day awaken. Two sets of eyes witnessing the sun inch higher in the sky, ducks paddling across the greenish-brown pond. On the other bank was a thicket of trees, their branches full and rustling in the morning breeze. A magnificent medley of blue, orange, and pink-tinted the sky.

I had never felt so content, so much ….what? Love? Maybe. Connection. Definitely. I wanted to etch the moment into my memory, on my heart, deep within my soul. Even as I felt it, I feared that it may never come again. So, I closed my eyes.

His breath, so close to my ear, mingled with the breeze that played in my hair. The rise and fall of his chest against my back in rhythm with the choir of birds, insects, frogs, and rustling leaves. His stubble tickling my cheek as he held me close. A smile played on my lips as I tilted my face upwards towards the warmth of the sun.

Deeply, I inhaled the earthy mix of wet grass and the spiciness of his cologne. As I exhaled, I slowly opened my eyes. The sky was now more blue than orange, traces of pink gone. Time had not stood still. Whether I wanted it to or not, the future was approaching, one second at a time. The end had not yet come but I was already mourning the loss.

“Ready?” he whispered in my ear, as though he understood the sanctity of the moment. I took one last look and sighed as I turned to face him.

“Yes,” I smiled, wrapping my arms around his waist and pulling him close one more time. Hand in hand, we walked back towards his car, away from our Alabama sunrise.

Author’s Note №1

Support my java habit by buying me a cup of coffee (or a glass of wine).

Author’s Note №2

It would mean the world to me if you would stop by to view my photography gallery.

Stay connected! Sign up for our email list!

Jenita Lawal is a writer, traveler, amateur photographer, entrepreneur, and mother. After 20+years of living the American Dream, she sold everything and packed her suitcases to pursue the life of her dreams. She lives abroad in Mexico with her three teenage boys and loves exploring whenever there’s an opportunity. She’s on Instagram @jlawal_atw.

--

--

Jenita Lawal
40+ and Writing

Jenita is a lover of travel, words, sunsets and people. She is a travel advisor, life coach and homeschool mom who tries to save the world one person at a time.