Impostor

Jenita Lawal
40+ and Writing
Published in
1 min readAug 25, 2020

when you can’t have who you want…

a self portrait by the author
Photo by Jenita Lawal

I want you, he whispered in my ear

Warm breath igniting a trail of tiny fires

His need mirroring mine

But not for him, for you

Eyes closed, arching into his warmth

that I silently wished was yours

Your words his, his voice yours

But you don’t see me

Eyes closed, lips uttering vain prayers

That this moment was ours

Your lips his, his hands yours

But you don’t see me

Eyes closed, exhaling staggered pleas

The cold rapture of the impostor

Not really his, not really yours

Because you don’t see me

Author’s Note №1

Support my java habit by buying me a cup of coffee (or a glass of wine).

Author’s Note №2

It would mean the world to me if you would stop by to view my photography gallery.

Stay connected! Sign up for our email list!

Jenita Lawal is a writer, traveler, amateur photographer, entrepreneur, and mother. After 20+years of living the American Dream, she sold everything and packed her suitcases to pursue the life of her dreams. She lives abroad in Mexico with her three teenage boys and loves exploring whenever there’s an opportunity. She’s on Instagram @jlawal_atw.

--

--

Jenita Lawal
40+ and Writing

Jenita is a lover of travel, words, sunsets and people. She is a travel advisor, life coach and homeschool mom who tries to save the world one person at a time.