Bitcoin, Fiat, Japan and Reserve Currencies

Kent Langley
The 41st Square
Published in
2 min readApr 16, 2017

A colleague of mine shared the following article with me via Slack channel. It made me think of other things I've been reading. I’m just thinking out loud in this post. So, I am happy to hear any opinions and learn about more backing data on the matters at hand.

I'm no expert on global reserve currency policy but I found this statement interesting.

“The majority of currencies are not reserve currencies. Reserve currencies are where all the worlds wealth is held. No one (with a Brain) holds wealth in any of those red areas”

They posted a list of top reserve currencies. That list came from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reserve_currency I suspect.

From that wikipedia article,

“A reserve currency (or anchor currency) is a currency that is held in significant quantities by governments and institutions as part of their foreign exchange reserves.”

I also read this today,

Japan, in the last few weeks, began to accept bitcoin as legal currency major retailers backed the new law.

Soon after, Bitcoin value rises over $1 billion as Japan, Russia move to legitimize cryptocurrency

Are we really just waiting for BTC to actually become a reserve currency by the Wikipedia definition? Or, does that even really matter?

--

--