Interesting Things #2016.30.212

Kent Langley
The 41st Square
Published in
2 min readJul 30, 2016

A few lovingly curated pieces of information from me to you.

Ether and Ethereum on Coinbase

Coinbase has added direct support to buy, sell and store ether. This should prove to be very useful indeed. I'm still bummed about TheDAO. Maybe soon we'll see a 2.0 rally? This will make working with the cloud native computer that is Ethereum more straightforward I hope. Time will tell and there are experiments to do.

Steem | A Very Interesting Experiment

Steem hit my desk this week. I'll be very interested to watch this progress. In particular, I like how they have analyzed and considered the economics overall. I really want to see how it evolve and scales as this is an important application of crypto currency and blockchain.

"Steem is a blockchain-based social media platform where anyone can earn rewards."

My current concern is Steem Dollars to Bitcoin or ether currency conversion? I don't know if it is possible yet but eventually that would be a requirement that Steem Dollars have some kind of liquidity. In my opinion, Bitcoin would be the best path for such liquidity.

My initial experiments were not straightforward. I’ll keep testing. I really like what they are doing overall and it has significant potential.

Steve Blank and the Deputy Secretary of State

Tony Blinken going over what the government is up to when it comes to innovation and supporting entrepreneurship and why. Early in the podcast Tony mentions a program that happened at Stanford earlier this year to engage a small group of Silicon Valley innovators to battle the proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction. I was a part of that workshop and it was a lot of fun. Certainly different, but fun.

--

--