A quick nap at work isn’t a bad idea; in fact, it’s great!

Naveen Kumar J
Don't Panic, Just Hire

--

We all need a break at work at times. For me, that’s usually a cup of coffee, a walk, or even a game of foosball. It’s also close to my heart to annoy my manager.

All such good stuff aside, I insist you consider quick naps as well.

Nap rooms have been an integral part of my company’s workspaces right from our startup days.

Though the intent was to let us rest and feel at home, I found myself relaxed and in a better mental space as I started using the nap rooms.

I did some reading, and was thrilled when I realized that there is actual science to back the overwhelmingly positive effects of quick naps! (YAY)

The kind of science that the world needs

Quick naps stimulate creativity

What I observed was that somehow my brain goes into hyperdrive during a nap and my ability to think of better approaches to problems improved. Like it’s not me who’s thinking (My boss said this).

Research on the positive benefits of napping at the University of California suggests that creativity is at its peak after a quick nap and boosts problem-solving capabilities.

Happy work environment

Apparently, there is something called Serotonin, a neurotransmitter which induces the feeling of well-being and contentment. Our brains are found to be filled with it after a short nap. No wonder I suddenly like my teammates.

Prevents information overload

Honestly, people don’t want to be seen taking a nap or even a break at work. I believe that goes for most of us. But studies have shown that productivity lowers when we refuse to rest because there’s a lot to do. A quick nap offers you improved concentration and focus.

So the next time your boss catches you taking a nap, look at him strangely and send him this article.

… and if things don’t turn out that well after, reach out to careers@freshworks.com

--

--

Naveen Kumar J
Don't Panic, Just Hire

When people ask me if I went to a B-School, I tell them, 'No! I went to Startups.' #QuentinTarantino for life. Product Manager @FreshworksInc