An Open Letter to College Coaches

Kit Larson
Don't Panic, Just Hire
3 min readNov 6, 2016

In May of 2016, Becky Carlson, D-I NCAA Coach and Founder of Fearless Coaching wrote an open letter to “the Athlete We Must Stop Recruiting.” The following is a response to her letter.

Dear Prospective College Coach,

I was discouraged when I checked my inbox for the fourth day in a row to see that you had not responded. Chances are you’re too busy looking for new ways to improve every single player of yours and simply don’t have time to recruit. Should I send another email? Should I call you even though you haven’t responded? I do hope that sending an email was an appropriate way to contact you. We have never met before and it’s nerve-racking to make a first impression over the phone, let alone email. After all– your opinion of me will prove to be critical to my short-lived baseball career. What information should I provide you with? What shouldn’t I say? To be honest I usually let my play on the field do the talking.

I was extremely grateful when you graced me with the opportunity to visit you at campus. The twenty-minute tour of the weight room and study hall was well worth the six hour drive across the state, not to mention the eighty dollar stay at a hotel. I enjoyed spending my time examining the squat rack instead of hearing your weightlifting philosophy. You must’ve been just too tired from teaching it over and over again.

I understand that I may not have come prepared with the best questions to ask you, but I’m not exactly sure what I should know. I am still intimidated by your patronizing personality and it makes it hard for me to feel comfortable. I would have loved to talk baseball with you and show you my love and knowledge for the game, yet because you’re so much smarter than me; our conversation fell short.

I brought my glove and bat, just incase there wasn’t any extra equipment available. Oh you don’t want to see me throw? I see. You’re right; It’s probably better to evaluate my talent once I’ve made a huge financial commitment to enroll in the fall. I’ll just awkwardly walk with my glove as you tour me around campus.

I really appreciate the opportunity to be a “preferred walk-on.” The time spent playing in the fall has been great. I’m sure that if you see something I can improve upon, you’ll let me know as soon as you can. Since you’ve chosen not to speak to me in a private setting for weeks now, i’ll assume that you’re satisfied with my skill, effort level and I have nothing to worry about in regards to a roster spot. I’m sure you’re a man of your word and you meant it when you said you saw me as apart of you’re starting rotation. I always did find statement odd, given that I told you I saw myself as a reliever.

Although we rarely discuss what needs to be done for me to reach the next level, I sure do enjoy hearing all of your long-winded, repetitive stories. You’re the man. The best is when you call team last minute meetings and give practice times only hours before we’re expected to report. Our time isn’t very import, we know. I never really enjoyed making plans in advance anyway.

I do understand that my development as a player is strictly my responsibility. Although I may no longer be playing; you’re still coaching. And i’m sure my failure to make it to the next level eats away at you at night just the same. But it’s nice to know that regardless of my performance on the field, you will always be grateful for the years of hard work that were dedicated to the betterment of your program.

Sincerely,

A Former College Athlete

--

--

Kit Larson
Don't Panic, Just Hire

Transfer from Santa Barbara CC where he was named an All-American by the CCCBCA. SBCC’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year 2014–15. RHP for NCSU Baseball.