Farewell startup life, Hello startup life

Thomas Watson
Don't Panic, Just Hire
2 min readJan 27, 2016

As a few of you might already know, I’ve decided to step back from my role at Pumodo. The startup have been my baby for several years. It’s been an exciting and interesting journey and we’ve made a lot of cool apps in the process. But I decided late last year that it was time for me to pick a new path in my life. So without really knowing what to do next, I announced my decision internally at Pumodo in December. Though it can be tough for a startup to lose a co-founder, I’m leaving a strong project and I’m confident in the team and that they have what it takes to continue the journey.

Keeping the news under the radar since December has given me some time to reflect and get into a lower gear over Christmas and New Years. And today I’m really excited to let you all know that I’ve decided to join Opbeat full time.

Opbeat is a startup founded by two of my really good friends, Ron Cohen and Rasmus Makwarth and they have an exciting time ahead of them taking on heavy hitters like New Relic in the Application Performance Monitoring space — i.e. Opbeat monitors your web app, let’s you know if and why it’s slow, tracks errors, code changes etc.

For a while they’ve been the go-to guys with a vastly superior product if your app was built using Python. My job will be to bring this product to the Node.js community — both as a Node.js lead developer and dev evangelist, a role that I’m really excited to take on.

I look forward to continue working with open source software and especially with the awesome community we have around Node.js.

P.S. I’m running for a seat on the Node.js Foundation Board of Directors and the election ends on January 30st. If you care about Node.js just as much as I, please consider voting for me to represent the community. You can read my announcement here and join my Q&A.

--

--

Thomas Watson
Don't Panic, Just Hire

Computer programmer, Node.js Core Collaborator, open source hacker and Node.js dev at @Elastic, formerly @opbeat