From Equal Interviews to Equal Pay

Avigail Levine
Don't Panic, Just Hire
5 min readSep 29, 2016

In 2009, after passing the bar exam, I began searching for my first job as a lawyer. I was 26, had just graduated with honors from a top Israeli law school and had completed my internship at the Attorney General’s office. I felt prepared for my first legal interview. After introducing myself to the interviewing partner and answering the usual openers about my background and experience, I braced myself for the upcoming legal questions, but, instead, the partner decided to open the interview with a question I was unprepared for:

“How do you think being a mother would affect your work here?”

This question caught me off guard. At the time I was serial dater (without much success) and didn’t have any experience as a mother, I still don’t. I tried to remember whether we had discussed this issue in law school, but it never came up in any of my 40 different courses. I did recall that asking a woman about her maternal status at a job interview was illegal. I felt ill-equipped to point this out to a respected attorney and human rights defender and shocked that I found myself in this position. I quickly suppressed the shock, regained my composure, and replied that I didn’t have a good answer, adding that I had never let my personal life interfere with my work. After a few more questions the interview was over. Needless to say, I didn’t want to hear from him again and found a great job at another firm.

Fast forward 7 years. A couple of weeks ago Shira and Dalit launched a new initiative called LeadWith. The aim of the organization is to encourage women to take senior positions in the tech world. Part of their activity includes a mentoring program and I was asked to mentor as part of their launch event.

My mentee, a 26 year old woman who recently made Aliya (immigrated to Israel) with her husband and infant. With impressive experience in both technology and finance, she was looking for a job as an associate in a VC and thought I could help. She immediately shared that she doesn’t know how to handle interviews in Israel. I asked her to explain and she added that in every interview she is asked how she plans to combine the full time job and a family. She was told that Israelis are blunt, but never expected such an inappropriate question on a first interview. I had flashbacks to my 26 year old self in a similar situation. I cannot comprehend that almost a decade has gone by and nothing has changed! Moreover, I realized that the issue plays itself out across the various industries. It makes no difference applying for a job as a lawyer, accountant, engineer or investor, the basic assumption is that if you are a woman, you are incapable of managing your work priorities and personal schedule.

Let’s be honest, what the employer really wanted to ask was — why should I hire a mother who will probably have certain time limitations and require flexibility, when I can hire a man or a single woman for the job.

By introducing this question, the employer, subconsciously or not, already decided not to hire that woman but has given her the ‘opportunity’ to try and convince him/her otherwise.

Hiring a new employee is always risky, especially if you assume, the potential candidate won’t be completely dedicated to the job. However, I believe asking it won’t protect you from hiring the wrong person and might actually lead to the opposite result:

  • This question is irrelevant: The ultimate purpose of a job interview is to learn about the candidate’s professional experience and skills. This question doesn’t serve your purpose. You might learn about the candidate’s parental abilities, but not much about his/her suitability for the role. Furthermore, by asking this question you send a message that the workplace is not family friendly, and also warn off people who don’t yet have a family but plan to have one in the future. If you don’t intend to hire a mother, which basically means you’re limiting your search to less than 50% of the population, don’t waste her time with this interview.
  • Generation Y: There is a tangible shift in the workplace and it’s time to acknowledge it. Today many employees expect some flexibility and freedom at work, and they often switch jobs in order to gain it. Subsequently, Many companies realize they have to compete over good talent and adjust their terms and benefits to adjust to this new reality. Some of the more progressive ones offer flexible hours, work from home and free time to develop interests and hobbies. The demand for these flexible conditions comes from both genders. Those who keep their archaic attitude might find themselves with the lousy employees or none at all.
  • Catch 22: How would you answer this question? If you say you put your job ahead of your family you’d be perceived as a bad parent, and if you say you put your family ahead of your job then you might be regarded as a bad employee and the interview is over. Why put anyone in a position where they have to apologize for having a family? Let them raise the topic if they feel the need to.
  • The question implies discriminatory employment practices. Would you have asked a man a similar question? Of course not. What would you think of an employer who asked your daughter this question? This is a question that only women are asked and is prejudicial and discriminating. Once you’ve asked this question or any other questions addressing the candidate’s responsibilities as a mother, you make her feel inferior and she loses the opportunity to introduce herself properly and convince you that she is the right candidate for the position. The issue of equal compensation is mentioned a lot these days, but how can anyone expect men and women to earn equal salaries, when women are not even granted an equal interview?

People don’t understand why there are so few women in senior positions across the different industries. I believe the problem begins with the interview. If we prevent the discrimination on the job interview, the equal salaries and promotions will follow.

In 2016 we’ve reached a new era; We have bots that can schedule meetings, self driving cars and even working women. A growing number of women with families and children have incredibly demanding roles as lawyers, entrepreneurs, doctors, parliament members and maybe even an American president soon. They all prioritize and find the right balance that works for their families, their jobs and themselves. Unless you want to offer babysitting services at the office (which is a great idea), asking a woman how she balances family and work is so 2009.

*I would like to thank Shifra Goldberg for her insightful comments

--

--