Hire unconventionally. I create job posts that include case studies to challenge only the great.

SB
Don't Panic, Just Hire
5 min readAug 1, 2016

Job posts haven’t really changed in years. I believe I have discovered an innovative new way to attract highly qualified candidates with your job postings.

By creating an additional path through the post itself, I am able to enhance job posts and attract top talented people. I call this technique a “path for the passionate”. And creating that path is as simple as including in my job posts a case study about something directly connected to the job the applicant will be doing in my team.

Here is my epiphany.

Case studies are important. This is not new.

We use case studies in education. We also use them to convince other companies to buy our products. In fact, problem vs. solution is the best way to scientifically prove something. So why not use them to attract and hire people?

Many companies/managers use case studies to recruit people, but they use them at the wrong time.

In some job application processes, companies offer case studies to candidates when they are at an advanced stage of the hiring process. I believe at that point candidates are already locked in to delivering a response to the case, with no opportunity to even judge if they will like the job or not. And often, these case studies are not even related to the job itself.

I realised that if you create a case study that precisely explains what the job will be about and you place it at the front of the hiring process, the motivations for why candidates approach you greatly change and the quality of people entering the hiring process increases.

This is how my job posts look like.

Case studies: my definition

A case study is NOT a brain teaser. Rather, it is about being precise about the job. It has no concrete solution, but provides a challenge to solve that relates directly to the job activity performed in my team.

A case study helps me to be in control of exposing my talent. I can explain precisely the team function and the job role in the organisation in a practical way. This helps candidates determine at what level I operate. With that information they can determine how challenged they feel about working in my team. On the other side, when I review case responses I can set my expectations on what value someone will add to the team. That’s when I evaluate on going to the next stage: the interview.

Reasons I use a case study on my job posts:

It challenges upfront. I’m able to detect talent at early stages of the hiring process. The ‘doers’ (not the ‘tellers’) are motivated to apply via case study.

It’s constructive. When people apply, they’ve already shown an interest in what I have to offer. They also get a good idea of how they can add value to my team.

It reveals drive. Drive is even independent of prior career success. Applicants opting for a case study bring two basic qualities: sense of ownership and self-motivation.

It detects curiosity. Candidates applying using a case study will most likely be curious. Curiosity is a synonym of loving what they do. Also, curious people cultivate creativity.

It finds learners. Candidates explore topics they have never before touched. This can reveal who is a good learner.

It’s empowering. They are very pleased to get the opportunity to demonstrate what they are capable of. And, most importantly, they decide to take the chance (see self-selection).

It’s precise. I can jump directly on the topic that solves my problem. Many disciplines are very wide and I want to find people that operate at the level I propose.

It predicts trajectory. Candidates get excited about what they could do rather than what they have done. With a case study I can evaluate trajectory in the context of my team. I’m able to see what they would be capable of.

It increases ethics. A case study reduces BS levels. Since I propose something practical I know best, the topic is focused, leaving no room for BS. Unlike case study responses, CVs carry a high rate of BS.

It’s an opportunity for self-selection. Candidates detect if there is talent in my team and evaluate whether or not what I offer is good enough for them. If they are only ‘half-interested’ they apply the conventional way.

It promotes diversity. There is no better way to deal with diversity than to select people by capability.

It works. I decided to only interview people that took the “case method” path (that was my choice). I drastically reduced CV screening. I filled every single role with both internal and external talent.

This is why I created zealpath — to help people like me build a team.

If you want to try hiring through the “case study method”, zealpath makes it easy for you. Make your job posts perform better by creating a path for those who are up for a challenge. Check this sample case study we use to recruit product managers.

After having used this method for some time now, the way I publish job posts and hire people has changed, forever.

Good luck! Build your team. Hire unconventionally.

If you enjoyed reading this, please log in and click “Recommend” below.

I’d appreciate if you would tweet the story so others can enjoy it too!

Follow me @sgutier

--

--