Dennis Waterman
Don't Panic, Just Hire
2 min readSep 20, 2016

--

“My dad taught me that it’s the loudest man that stands proudest amongst the rest” — Geoff Bezos

When hiring employees, my very first question is always the same;

“Why do you even want to work for a living? Surely you could just scrounge off the state?”

To this day I’ve never received a satisfactory answer to this question. And there’s one big reason why:

Celebrities like Jim Carey, Kim Kardashian and Tom Hanks all have one thing in common. They, like me, made a totally reckless decision 12 years ago. I sold my house, traded in my sportscar and divorced my wife, all so I could focus on one thing- InsightHub.

Still from our hugely successful introductory video -Dennis Waterman

Our company began to grow and before I knew it I had 25+ employees and offices in London and Toronto. We were doing great but then came ‘Starving Season’ and I had to fire the majority of them to keep the company afloat.

How did I decide which ones to fire? Easy. The Introverts.

I needed my few remaining staff to be strong, loud and manly. Anyone else could hit the bricks. I needed finishers. People who’d get the job done. I have not the time nor the money to keep whingey, whiney, emotional staffbags on MY company’s payroll.

So now I only hire extroverts.

Do you have similar stories? Do you also want to fire your introverts but HR won’t let you?!

Share like and subscribe in the comment section below.

Dennis

--

--