How to get your job application noticed by more people

Christian Biggins
Don't Panic, Just Hire
5 min readApr 4, 2016

Note that I’m not in HR. I’m a tech guy who regularly reviews tech job applications. The below is simply some suggestions for how your CV would make it from an email to potentially an interview.

I’ve reviewed hundreds of tech job applications. Predominantly for developer positions but irrespective of the position being applied for, the same basic problems keep occurring within the applications;

  1. The cover letter is shit or non existent.
  2. The CV is poor or just crap to look at.
  3. No accompanying LinkedIn profile

I feel bad for these people, a lot of the time they have a lot to offer but wont even get into the first round because of fundamental problems.

I’m going to use (anonymous) examples from a currently advertised role I’m reviewing applicants for. The position is for a front end developer but position is unimportant. I’m also writing this from my own opinions and experience of being in web work for almost 20 years. Feel free to disagree, I like a good discussion, drop a comment if you wish.

What is your cover letter supposed to do?

I believe your cover letter is introduce yourself and to draw little lines from what I’ve asked for in the job ad (required experience) to the experience (or recent role) that you’re bringing.

For example “You’ll notice from my CV that I have extensive PHP experience” when the job may ask for “PHP Experience”. Thats a simple example but you’re confirming you have what’s being asked for without the reviewer needing to build those relationships themselves.

In my opinion, cover letters need to entice the reviewer to open the CV. Just because we get emails with CV’s and attachments it really doesn’t mean we’re going to open them. Especially if we have lots to review and, like everybody else, are excruciatingly busy.

Common cover letter problems;

  • No cover letter. This is a significant problem. Do you know what I do if there is no cover letter? I delete the email. If you can’t even introduce yourself to me then I’m not going any further. Don’t send an application with no cover letter.
  • Spelling mistakes or poor formatting. This is similar to the problem above, if you can’t hide that you’ve cut ’n’ pasted some content or fixing your spelling errors (when every app in the world supports spell check) then you wont make it any further for me.
  • Another version of your CV. I don’t want another version of your CV because, like, thats what your CV is for.
  • A novel. I don’t have time for novels, most people don’t and wont read it. Cover letters are short and to the point.
  • Non personalised. If its clear that the applicant has pasted a template and simply changed the job title then their application is over with me. Address the person you are emailing, include where you saw the job advertised and ensure that you create relationships between your experience and the job requirements.

Entice the reader to open the CV. Make them aware that you are better than the other applicants. This is your only chance to make a good first impression. The reviewer has lots of other applications to look at, make this one that they will review and put in the ‘maybe’ basket (because ‘maybe’ is crap loads better than the ‘nope’ basket). This process is as important as the interview because you wont make the interview without nailing this.

EDIT: I was telling a colleague about this post and they had a fantastic analogy; treat your cover letter like the synopsis of a book.

  • Too little info and nobody will buy the book;
  • too much info and people wont read it all (because that info is already in the book, right?);
  • no synopsis and nobody will buy the book because they don’t know what it’s about;
  • and, non-unique synopsis means it’ll sound like all other books available.

This is a good way to treat your cover letter.

The CV

This is where the more detailed list of what you’ve done and what you can bring to the role belong. (Not in the cover letter!)

For me, when looking for developers or whatever, I really want to see only a few elements;

  • A strong opening statement. Tell me (in 1–2 paragraphs) why you are awesome! Theres a good article on The Guardian about how to write a good opening statement.
  • Your skills. A small matrix works well with skill, proficiency and years used.
  • Work experience. I have had an applicant with 4 decades of user experience listed. We didn’t have the internet 4 decades ago so I can be pretty sure the experience is not relevant to me. Clear out anything that is not relevant. If you’ve recently made the decision to change careers, this might be bare, if thats the case leave some experience but draw attention to why it might be relevant.
  • Any industry awards / education / conference sessions. This backs up your experience and is really important in strengthening your position in the industry.

I’m not too phased about the rest. I’m not saying remove it as others may be interested but I don’t really pay it much attention.

Don’t write a novel. 13 page CV’s do not get read. Thats a fact, Jack. Pages and pages of black chunks of text is exhaustive just to look at and I wont look past the first page or two. Make it concise and to the point. A CV should probably be under 3 pages if possible and if it needs to be long, put the most important stuff first, if I tune out after 2 pages I’ll be tuning out with the most important info in my brain.

Make it look nice! Holy shit! The amount of Word docs using the exact same template and exact same font tells me you’re happy with being the same as everybody else. Make it different. Some colour or nicer font or the odd image really goes a long way, particularly if you are applying for a creative role. Why would somebody hire a designer who uses a Word Doc template?

No accompanying LinkedIn profile

If I’m down to 2 applicants and one has a killer LinkedIn profile, they get the job. Its that simple.

LinkedIn shows me the groups you’re a member of (PHP, Drupal, Git, Australia, Whatever) and also shows me that you take pride in your work and your work history. It makes a big impression when people have added work projects (with some detail) and have recommendations from past colleagues. Update your profile every time something significant happens to you professionally. Keep it updated.

If you’re not on LinkedIn or you have not put much love into your profile then you wont get far with me.

Remember, you’re trying to make your application different from all the others. How can you do that if you do the same as everybody else?!

--

--

Christian Biggins
Don't Panic, Just Hire

Not a Christian. Swears a lot. Rugby Tragic. Web devotee. Family man. Dog person.