Sencha’s Headquarters in Redwood City

One month of working remotely

Philip Boardman
Don't Panic, Just Hire
3 min readJun 24, 2016

--

Over the course of several months and several rounds of telephone interviews, including with two technical engineers to access my grasp of JavaScript and one in-person meeting in a Sydney hotel café, I was offered a remote work job.

Toward the end of the hiring process I began to wonder if it was all real. Despite the number of interactions, there was a nagging feeling that it was all too easy, some sort of scam.

The first week was at Sencha Headquarters in Redwood City, California. I was required to book my own flights, plan transport and make my way to a hotel near the office. I recall telling the customs agent at San Francisco International Airport that I was starting a new job tomorrow, not entirely sure myself. At the hotel there was a reservation - things were looking promising.

On Monday morning I arrived at the office and everything worked out great.

During my first week I took a five-day training course, meeting some of the team and got access to the company email and other accounts. I explored San Francisco, Redwood City, and caught my first Uber rides.

It has now been one month I started a new job. I am now a Sales Engineer for Sencha Inc, working remotely from my home in Wollongong.

Arriving home after that first week was a little unusual. Being in a new company with a new software stack there was plenty to learn, but most of the time the colleagues I had met at headquarters were offline. I scheduled some early morning calls to run through some software training and work on the brackets from the semicolons. A trip to Sydney to sit down with my manager, collect a hardware allocation (“a MacBook Pro and big screen”) made for a long day, but provided guidance for a number of tasks and I arrived home with a clearer understanding of the work my role required.

Having established a small work area I was able to get to work. I’m connected via email, Skype, HipChat, and the occasional GoToMeeting, but being an introvert, the quiet workspace is a welcome change in this age of open-plan offices.

After working remotely in previous roles I know I have a tendency to get a little hyper-focused — I used to start working and forget to leave my computer for breakfast until mid-afternoon. So I have set up hourly goals with my FitBit (once a warranty replacement device arrived) and installed Stand App so I wouldn’t remain too sedentary.

I’ve also taken the opportunity to get started with to podcasts, which didn’t work well in an open office environment. Send me your recommendations.

--

--

Philip Boardman
Don't Panic, Just Hire

He/him. Interested in how things work; breaking things and fixing things. Hobbies include cooking, coffee, coding, music, and learning to surf. https://brd.mn