Personal Development — Where do I begin?

Forever Living Hut
6 min readFeb 5, 2016

--

Originally posted on ForeverLivingHut.com

Firstly I will start by saying I don’t consider myself to be an expert on the subject but over the last year or so I have debated with myself and others this subject in great detail and in doing so learned how to develop my own attributes in order to start on the true road to, or in other words lay a proper foundation for success. A short time and only a matter of months after I achieved this, and what I call the first chapter in my personal development journey, I increased my value in the market place to the extent I achieved a pay rise at work and learned how to make a part time income from network marketing. The overall increase in my total income was significant and for me, the first sign that these personal development techniques work.

So although I am far from an expert on the subject I do consider myself to be an expert on my own experience and it is this I would like to share with you in the hope you too can ensure you are on the right path to success. I am not about to enter into a complex explanation my aim is to describe in simple terms what in my experience is required to get started on the right path to success.

So where should I start?

You should start with yourself. If you are truly serious about developing your self you must first know your starting point by realising the reality of your situation and it is essential you are able to ask yourself and even debate some very difficult questions. In my opinion the first and most important question to ask yourself is.

Is the person I am now capable of achieving success to the level I desire?

If you can answer honestly to this and that answer is “not at the moment” you have just identified what I would describe as the most fundamental flaw and congratulations because the fact you have been able to face up to something like this shows you already have an attribute called honesty along with a certain and rare level of humility . The operative key word here is fundamental. Keep things simple.

The solution to a fundamental flaw in my experience is the leaning and ability to apply the appropriate fundamental attribute.

An attribute is defined in the dictionary as “a quality or feature regarded as a characteristic or inherent part of someone”. So when I refer to an attribute I am referring to something that is already within you I am not suggesting that anyone would need to change themselves on the contrary this is about developing what already exists.

How do I know what attribute to apply?

In short you don’t. The application of your attributes is something that occurs naturally like a thought. I mean you would not think what to think before you thought it would you?

Your attributes need to be nurtured by your own wisdom and character.

Now the acquisition of wisdom and the development of character are a whole other subject and although my enlightenment on the subjects has made them an integral part of my own personal development journey I would give my thoughts on these in a later chapter.

For the moment and a more relevant answer to your question as to where do I start would be — With your fundamental philosophies.

Now I have underlined this because I cannot stress how important this is. Your understanding of the fundamental philosophies that can affect your life is the most important lesson you will ever learn on your personal development journey. Once you understand these philosophies and take the action of applying them to yourself, your actions, your thoughts, you will experience significant and positive changes in your life taking you in the direction you want to go.

I don’t mean just read them and think “hmm yes that’s interesting” for them to affect your life you must study them and how they specifically fit into your life and your personality. Debate them with yourself and others. Think how they would affect past decision’s you have made or how they could affect others and yourself in certain situations. Look at them from all angles possible until you reach enlightenment. You know when this happens because a feeling will come over you like a warm blanket and you will know that you are going to make the changes you want to your life, no matter how big. And you should think as big as you like.

There are countless philosophies out there you can read about or listen to. But the number one philosophy which I live by is. “Success is not something you pursue. Success is something you attract by the person you become”

When I read this philosophy and thought about the potential, all of a sudden the possibilities for me seemed endless. I started working on my vocabulary, my skills at work, my understanding of other philosophies, I read about the cultivation of character, setting goals, the difference between dreaming and an eager desire, self-discipline and procrastination.

A lot of this stuff might seem obvious but until you study the topics and develop a true understanding of them, you cannot expect to reap the benefit.

What this philosophy says to me in essence is that although I have my goals firmly and vividly in my mind I do not concentrate on these in my actions or allow them to distract me, if I did this they would remain just dreams and not the eager desire they are. Instead I concentrate on the development of myself mentally and physically and thus achieve my goals by default. This has worked for me so far and this is why I continue with a feeling of confidence towards whatever I want to achieve, no matter how major a task.

I am not special, anyone can achieve this very same frame of mind. Okay I accept peoples circumstances are different but anyone can make a change but only if they want to and have an eager desire to do so.

Start by reading up on some philosophies and the right one for you will help you make the decisions that could affect the rest of your life in whatever way you desire.

You can find a few on my “join us” page of this web site or the following link http://bit.ly/1lW1XfN

I would also recommend the following book called “The Power of Ambition” by Jim Rohn.

Remember that fundamental philosophies are just that, as in fundamental. They are nothing new and have been around for thousands of years so be aware of your source and ensure it is authentic.

I sincerely hope you find this helpful and good luck on finding your philosophies and taking the first step on your personal development journey.

Please feel free to email me at mark@foreverlivinghut.com

Visit Forever Living Hut for more information and aloe vera products

--

--

Forever Living Hut

Forever living hut is a leading source for Aloe Vera products in the UK. Visit: www.foreverlivinghut.com