Intro to 5 Minute Dispatch

Jake Shillue
5 Minute Dispatch
Published in
2 min readSep 8, 2018

Hello and welcome to the 5 Minute Dispatch! Perhaps you heard about us from a friend, saw us on social media, or listened to our award-winning podcast*. However it came to be, I’m glad you found us. At the start of 2018, I realized I wasn’t making enough time to showcase my creativity in my personal time. I started this series in an effort to reignite my love of creative writing, tell short stories that would entertain, and provide a brief reprieve for readers in an otherwise constantly moving and sometimes chaotic world.

I have always been a fan of the classic good guy vs. bad guy story; heroes and heroines defying overwhelming odds, epic tales of adventure in far flung locales. My inspiration for the stories and characters draws from some of my favorite movies, video games, and real world events, with the majority coming from original ideas. Combining elements of fiction and non-fiction, ranging from realistic to totally outlandish, to humorous, dark, and everything in between, the 5 Minute Dispatch will cover time periods from the Italian Renaissance, to the Wild West at the end of the 19th century, to future science fiction settings.

Follow along as former private investigator Thompson Detmer seeks revenge on his sister’s killer, or as three elite pilots in the U.S. Air Force dogfight in the skies with enemies of a rogue nation.

Whatever your favorite type of story may be, we plan to tell it here at the 5 Minute Dispatch. Thank you for reading along, and I hope you enjoy what you find.

Jake
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
5 Minute Dispatch

*Our podcast is not award winning, nor do we have a podcast. Yet.

--

--

Jake Shillue
5 Minute Dispatch

Founder of 42Seventy | Author of 5-Minute Dispatch | Storyteller by trade and traveler by nature