Morning musings: July 17

Alexander Nowak
5 Minute Major
Published in
3 min readJul 17, 2020

Call me a conspiracy theorist…

I can’t help but wonder that Evil Dan Snyder’s decision to finally (cough cough be dragged, kicking and screaming) drop the Redskins name was timed with the Washington Post’s blockbuster report on sexual harassment in his organization.

It’s patently obvious he’s only renaming the franchise due to sponsor pressure (bonus: new merch to hack!), with BLM as the reason behind it. Sadly, I wouldn’t also be shocked to learn the timing of this futile preemptive strike at generating positive PR reeks of Snyder spin-doctoring. We were all waiting for what the Post’s story would be after it promised a big drop on the ‘skins (geez, I cannot wait to drop the use of that name…)

p.s. Calling Cancel Culture: we have new target to set your crosshairs on.

A rose by any other name…

In the world of the most outstanding racist sports monikers… a status report:

Anecdotal discovery this am: the existence of the above legit teams, the NY Jews and SF Chinamen, amongst many other horrible ones.

I can so relate…

We admire them, we chastise them, we envy them, we research them… but it’s nice to be reminded we can still relate to them.

Pro athletes are people like you and I, and often young. Seeing NBAers roll into the bubble carrying random prized possessions hearkens back to moving into your college dorm room. Video games, LEGO, coffee, puzzles (yes, puzzles!)… I don’t know about you but I find these pics of guys carrying in computer monitors just so endearing.

p.s. kudos to my new favourite player, Myles Turner, on bringing his own hot sauces. Ingenious. Instead of relying on finding limited good food, he’s ready to make any dish amazing.

‘Tis only a matter of time…

Over/under on when a player’s Madden rating first becomes a bonus in a contract? I’ll go under on 3.5 years.

Quote of the day

“I don’t need much to live. I just need a bed and food” courtesy St. Louis Blues’ awesome Vladimir Tarasenko.

--

--

Alexander Nowak
5 Minute Major

I write about sports, marketing, business, pop culture, or whatever tickles my fancy.