Week 7: Volunteer to cook a Shabbat meal at the synagogue

Joe Greenheron
50 Acts of Chesed
Published in
1 min readNov 26, 2017
Not our synagogue (I can’t take photos in there on Shabbat)

No more freebees this week. This one had me up and out of the house yesterday morning, prepping Shabbat luncheon at the synagogue with a few other volunteers, as the rest of the congregation was praying in the sanctuary. It was strange to be “working” in the synagogue’s kitchen, just barely able to hear the ritual chanting of the Torah drifting in from the sanctuary.

I was worried I’d be in over my head, since I’m not a great cook. But the meal was simple (bagels and cream cheese, salads, fresh veggies, etc) and we were able to finish preparing it with plenty of time to spare.

During the post-prayer luncheon, I ate quickly and helped keep food stocked on the buffet tables. Best part was that it’s prohibited to use the dishwasher on Shabbat, so after cleaning up the tables, we got to leave the dishes for a later crew.

This activity was one of the most enjoyable. It was quick, I got to chat with other members of the congregation, and it involved nourishing others, which is always a pleasure.

Unlisted

--

--