What Love Is Enough?

Enough for what?

Carlos del Rio
50 Love Project
2 min readDec 21, 2013

--

One of my favorite people wrote recently about When Love Isn’t Enough. I hope that the words I write here can be seen as an extention, not a contradiction to her words.

Love is always enough.

The question is what is love enough for. Is love enough to buy a house and home? To raise a child? To build a business? To change? Is love enough to let go when now is not the time, here is not the place, we are not the people?

When I was in the most difficult relationship of my life that beautiful (but monumentally wrong for me) girl asked me “What if love isn’t enough?” What she wanted, our love wasn’t enough for that. Not that we wanted different things or didn’t love each other, we wanted different paths. Specifically, we wanted incompatible paths. Love was enough for me to never let go until it was dead. Love was enough for her to ignore that on a very core level we didn’t like each other, out in the wild of public life.

For me love is still enough to hope that her life is better now that she doesn’t talk to me. I like to imagine that it is. Joanna’s story is powerful for me because it shows a depth of love that recognizes that no level of planning is more important than wanting what is best for the parties. It takes a great deal of love to see that the next, best step is away.

Love is always enough when it gives you the strength to do what is right.

--

--

Carlos del Rio
50 Love Project

Parent, Author, Yoga/Meditation Guide, Working on a Masters in Social Work