Day Nine: Attitude is Everything

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
3 min readFeb 13, 2018
Apres Ski

This wasn’t the face I was making as we scooted off the chair lift and began our first run of the day.

The drive to Hoch-Ybrig was only an hour from our hotel and absolutely stunning. Apparently we brought the sunshine with us which is a good thing: I’m definitely a fair weather skier.

We approached the parking lot and I began to feel a bit anxious. I absolutely love skiing but I’m definitely a novice. Thoughts started swirling. The kind of thoughts that lead to a not so great time.

We get to the ticket counter and I notice the avalanche alert. It’s marked at a level of considerate. WTF does that mean? Heart speed increases just a little as I think of a documentary I watched about a town just like this where an avalanche hits out of the blue.

I make no mention to RB because I know he will think I’m being ridiculous.

We rent our gear and head up the mountain and I notice how narrow the cat track is and how quickly everyone is ending at the lift. I’m used to people slowing down as they approach the chair. Hmmm. Tick tock in my brain.

As we head up the mountain I realize I am NOT at all prepared as far as clothing goes. I’ve got a jacket and ski pants but only a long sleeve underneath and it’s FREEZING. But skiing was my idea so I know I need to suck it up.

I get off the lift shivering. We take our first run and immediately I’m faced with something I was not expecting. Moguls.

I make it down the Mountain and realize it’s gonna be a hell of a long day.

Next run gets even worse as far as difficultly. Moguls, icey and steep, oh my.
I’d waited for months to ski Switzerland and here I was hating it.

I quickly realized the mountain wasn’t going to get any easier.
The only thing I could change was my horrific mood. One turn at a time, I told myself I could do it. I knew I could make it to the bottom if I kept up this mindset.

It REALLY is as easy as that to change the story in our head. One moment I’m cursing everyone and everything, the next, I’m awe struck by the beauty around me.

Not gonna lie, I was very happy to be back in the car, warm and on our way home for the night. We even stopped off for another of the world’s very best hot chocolate at Cafe Shober.

The night greets us and I feel a little saddened that my long time enthusiasm for the slopes of the Swiss Alps turned out a little differently than expected. It’s the first “meh” feeling of trip.

Luckily Zurich winked at me and told me it’s OK.
Tomorrow brings Valentine’s day and travel to a sunny warm paradise.

I’m curious for suggestions. What’s the most creative gift you’ve given YOUR special someone? Leave ideas in the comments so I can knock RB off his feet. He was a saint today and handled me like a King.

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit, and Fabulous!

--

--